we shall see

img_20170101_215243_107.jpg

I see you, seeing me.
Asking questions with those eyes.
Preparing your blatant lies.
You can’t fool the jester.

We shall see what we shall see.
That’s how the saying goes.
That’s how the fiction grows.
I’m more than silly, mister.

Spinning rhymes, let it be,
And my gaze will find the truth,
More than words and more than proof.
More than sins that pester.

My sight looks out to be free.
Though my heart knows its place,
And I’m too tired to race.
So my words only fester.

……………….

Blah.  I’ve sat down to write a post with this picture for the last couple days, and nothing came to me, so then it became this hurdle I had to get through.  And prove that I could do it?  Or, maybe just be done with it so I could move on to something else?  Or, maybe just because I’m stubborn?  Hell if I’m going to let this picture thwart me!  Something like that.

Anyway, this was a completely accidental selfie.  I was at the beach and squinting against the setting sun to try and catch the rays stretching across the breakers, and couldn’t see what I was looking at.  I’d flipped the camera around and had forgotten to switch it back.  Whoops.  I love how it turned out, though.

Not as big a fan of the poem/rap I came up with to go along with it… but, looking for silver linings, at least I wrote something and am posting it?  Sure.  Why not.  That’s as good a place as any to start.  So, here we go… picture and some words…  and, maybe this will kick off more of both to be shared with all my faithful kingdomites out there?  We shall see.

24 thoughts on “we shall see

  1. Like it. I am sure you have your hands full and that’s a great reason to be away from writing. 🙂 Still good to hear from you. I have been trying to get a post together too, but things have been a little haywire the last couple of months. I was so grateful I made it through nano and felt a well deserved break was in order. LOL But it’s time. 🙂

    • Yep. I took December off, which actually means I took half of November off too because I cheated and wrote and schedule all of Nov’s posts early… and was expecting to get back to writing in January… and then, well, life happened. Truly. Life. So, here we go. Maybe things are settling down and I can do some writing again.

  2. It truly is an awesome pic of you, and WELL DONE for getting back into writing. Kick-starting a new phrase isn’t easy at all. I’m trying to do it myself!

  3. I’m so glad you posted it. It was, I thought a really good poem but I felt it wasn’t quite ready to end. Maybe that was just me wanting it to go on somehow.
    And the selfie was complimentary to the words as if it was spoken word poetry.

And, begin:

