always seeking

img_0413

Stop one on the way from somewhere to somewhere else and we ended up in this basement of a passageway between two terminals, not really in a hurry but not with a lot of extra time either, and we were met by this mountain of a stairway and escalator.  Apparently, I find mountains wherever I go.  Somehow, I don’t think you are surprised by that.  I’m certainly not.  I seek them out.

I didn’t count these steps.  But, I have counted so many others.  I’ve counted steps to the tops of sierra passes and up the stairwells at every building I’ve ever worked.  I’ve counted them in the ruins of Tulum and up to the top of the Arc de Triomphe.  I’m not sure why I count each step up, or down, when I do, but perhaps it is as simple as having a measure of progress for each mountain climbed.

Perhaps it is more than that.  I don’t need to know the why, in any case.  The steps lead up, and I will count them as I climb to their summit to see what can be seen there.  Sometimes it is a view known by many the world around.  Sometimes it is a view known by only a select few.  It is those views I’m always seeking.

 

One thought on “always seeking

And, begin:

