only one option

img_1764

I’ve been closer to a bear than this.  I’ve been closer to a bear than this in the daylight, while “safely” in my car.  I’ve been closer to a bear than this in the dark, while trying to make a phone call on the only payphone in the campground and having to hang up on the person I was talking to (The Queen) so I could remove myself from the situation and find a safe place until the bear decided to wander off and I could resume my late night phone call.  I’ve been closer to a bear than this when I was too young to retain the memories but have been told the stories so many times I feel like I do actually remember them, even though I really don’t.  I’ve been closer to a bear than this many times, it would seem.

But this time there was a camera handy.

How wonderful, right?

In other news, do you see the people on the other end of the bridge?  About two seconds after this picture was taken, the bear decided he didn’t like what he saw in front of him (my family, mostly excitedly trying to take pictures) and he turned around and ran towards those poor people.

They say you aren’t supposed to run from a bear, but those people sure did.  They got off that side of the bridge in a hurry.  I can’t say that I blame them.  When your options are run or get run over… there really is only one option.

7 thoughts on “only one option

  1. Oh my! I am not very fast but I probably would have tried to run, too! Glad you are ok. I had a bear encounter in upstate New York when I was a teenager – it came right onto the porch of the cabin we were staying in, which made for an extremely long night since the camp’s only outhouse was like 30-40 yards away!

And, begin:

