Truth and Fiction 4

img_4457

Though, of course, we’ve already agreed that is a terrible title for this series.  What can I say?  I’m a sucker for routine.

The Fiction:

The high altitude air was so much thinner than he was used to.  Having come from sea level, his whole body was unaccustomed to the lack of weight in each lung filling breath.  It caused him to gasp at times chaotically through the laborious hours of the day.  It caused him to tremble when there didn’t seem enough to carry on and he wondered if he would fall before the darkness took him or the other way around.

Even the warmth of the day seemed effected by the thinness of the air as it fled quickly after the sun began its descent below the horizon.  While the light still kissed the sky, the temperature would plummet faster than seemed possible until layers were forced to be added or additional shivers and shakes would wrack his frame.

Some small comfort could be taken from the fire each night.  It became a beacon of hope for the day ahead and a victory torch for the day already survived.  It could not hold back the cold completely, for only the surfaces facing it would warm until he found himself constantly turning back to front and front to back to give each angle of himself an opportunity in its caress, but it was certainly better than not having a fire at all.

…..

The Truth:

I have two copies of The Erratic Sun signed by myself and by Revis (yes, by both authors).  I was thinking of giving them to people who promised to write reviews in return.  I was thinking of doing another contest.  I was thinking of just letting them sit on my shelf for a bit longer.  The truth is, I’m not quite sure what to do with them.

ErraticSun

What do you think I should do with them?

…..

 

9 thoughts on “Truth and Fiction 4

  1. Keep trying. I like your writing and think it has promise. But don’t quit your day job. I don’t think there are many successful writers who make a lot of money.

    Anyway, I just wanted to let you know that one of your questions is being posted on Gibber Jabberin tomorrow, 10/14/16, at 8:00 am Mountain Time. So come on over and join in the crazy conversation. 🙂

  2. Well since I already have a signed copy and wrote a review, I certainly don’t need one. Perhaps you could take bids here from interested parties who would like the book and donate the proceeds from the highest bidder to a worthy cause? Hurricane Matthew victims? (Ahem, Matthew!) xoxo

  3. Goodreads giveaway? Get the word out about it?

    In other news, the title here is troubling because my feeble mind can’t see either as implausible. So, maybe asking us which is true and which is fiction? Just sayin (wanders off, since other kingdom residents probably have this all figured out already …).

  4. I don’t know if anyone has mentioned, but I’ve read two stories from this series, and I think it does make the cut for Truth vs Fiction, because of the way each part is written. The fiction (which isn’t really fiction?) is written much like fiction while the truth section is written in a more “factual” manner. And yes, sometimes I tend to keep repeating the same word in the same sentence. Hehe.

    Do a challenge or contest..that’s always fun!!

  5. Find someone to do a bit of artwork with the first line of it (or I will ) and then I’ll give it away in my Book at the Door thing. (I’ve been meaning to ask… but you asked… so…) 🙂

And, begin:

