Truth and Fiction 2

img_4460

The Fiction:

The sun descended towards its bed below the horizon, casting one last loving glow upon the day that had been.  A light breeze cascaded down from the high peeks and pushed across the otherwise still water, blurring the mirrored image of the light caressed rocks.  The day ended shortly thereafter, as is often the case at high elevation where night seems to holder greater sway than elsewhere.  The departing sun took its warmth with it and a chill settled in to keep company with the looming darkness.

The night was nothing to be leery off, however.  The stars, more than can be counted, clustered and scattered across the sky and shone fiercely, bravely, lovingly.  The sight was, and always is, beautiful.  Our sun had set for the day, but so many others would twinkle and sparkle through the night.  They were a constant companion and a reminder of how big we should be dreaming.

Soon enough the sun would grace the sky with its presence again and warm the other side of those same peeks.  The unknown noises of the darkest stretches of night would soon be forgotten.  The long hours bundled away from the cold would soon be replaced by long hours toiling away in the heat of the day.  And so the cycle would continue to repeat.

…..

The Truth:

This became our longest day.  We somehow got on the wrong trail and ended up doing the same stretch twice, downhill once and uphill once, before deciding on a camping spot and then ranging across the landscape to find the trail we had missed.  It was beautiful country, though I am biased unabashedly for I love the Sierra, and I managed to enjoy the extra miles and extra hours despite not feeling well still.  I think the adventure of it provided ample adrenaline and excitement to continue carrying me forward long after I would have otherwise reached the end of my strength.  I actually took heart in how well I had done and that gave me the courage and peace of mind to know I could make it through whatever the remaining days held.  Even sick, I would not be disappointed by my beloved mountains.

…..

And now that both parts are written, there really isn’t any fiction to either piece.  Perhaps I should name this series something else…?

21 thoughts on “Truth and Fiction 2

  1. The picture is gorgeous and your description of the scenes after the sun set and as it rose again makes me feel as if I were there. Your writing is beautiful. That’s just truth.

  2. (looks down and away) I was going to say there didn’t seem to be much fiction there, but you know …

    Great stuff, this — hope you are feeling better!

And, begin:

