No Substitutions

Another old one, but this person is still close.

I closed my eyes
to visualize
someone
who wasn’t you.

I let myself venture
in an attempt
to fantasize
about someone
who wasn’t you.

I travelled past
subjects deemed perfect.
Perfection is merely perception.
My perception reminded me
I couldn’t find one
who wasn’t you.

I wandered past
the point of exhaustion,
collapsed in frustration,
refused to accept
one who wasn’t you.

I closed my eyes
to seek a vision.
I ventured.
I travelled.
I wandered
in vain.

The only vision
to materialize
was the one
who was you.

12 thoughts on “No Substitutions

  1. This is so sweet, really. I am glad you are still close.

    So to go off subject, other readers can ignore me.

    So I went to the Pure Barre studio today to check it out before my first class on Saturday. I explained my back injury and that I got cleared from to exercise by two doctors, and they were great! I was so worried I didn’t buy the “right clothes” and thought it would all be skinny chicks and such. I couldn’t be more wrong! Anyways, I had to fill out who referred me there. In my mind I said “uh, djmatticus?” LOL. I knew your name was Matthew and your last name started with a B but couldn’t remember the full last name. So I put “Matt B.” I’ll fix that when I do my first class on Saturday and have them give you credit. OK that’s all I had to say. I’m looking forward to the experience!

And, begin:

