drip…

There is a monster in my head,
That cannot be killed by bullets of led,
And needs always, craving, to be fed,
So be careful how close you tread,
Or you’ll find yourself

Dare I speak the truths of my heart?
Can I disclose the darkest parts?
In search of the bottom I did start,
But have yet to reach the inverse apex of my art,
In the depths my morals fly

As another brittle day dawns,
We are nothing but wooden pawns,
Despite the illusion of our bygones,
Our future is solid, set in bronze,
And death is our final

Jagged hands puncture and rip,
They wiggle and squirm for grip,
To procure a different end to this trip,
No matter how my soul may crack and chip,
And thoughts, like saliva, must

Dare I speak of the emptiness of being dead?
The monster that is my thoughts flies apart.
We are beholden to the immortal on the corner, our john.
Our existence slips through the cracks with a drip, drip, drip…

10 thoughts on “drip…

  1. Now this is rather deliciously dark, Mr Jester. And hey, I was thinking about you today, and missing you, so I’m glad you wrote. Also THANK YOU for all the coffees – SO appreciated. And ALSO I dreamed I was a dragon last night, and it was AWESOME! There’s a monster in all of us, non?

  2. I’ve always wondered what would happen if I ever let that monster out of my mind… I think we all have them hiding in there. Sometimes I’m just driving down the road to work and see a jogger or squirrel in the road, and it fleetingly crosses my mind that I could just swerve… OMG. Why on earth would I ever think of something like that? Of course I never act on it. It’s just strange.

  3. “Jagged hands puncture and rip,
    They wiggle and squirm for grip,
    To procure a different end to this trip,
    No matter how my soul may crack and chip,
    And thoughts, like saliva, must”

    Wow! This is coming up from the dead. I like it: feisty and dark. Full of life-becoming, overcoming….

  4. That is dark, soulful, and very clever, Matticus. But that aside, give the monster in your head a good kick for me, and if he gets upset, invite him up to my place for a beer (you can come too).

And, begin:

