Jesterly Challenge Month – November 14th

Rara asked me to write an advice column.  Without any clear topic or questions to use as a starting point for such a column, I rambled for a little bit, but perhaps that’s what most advice columns do anyway?  I’m not really sure.

…..
…..

I’ve not received that many requests for advice over the three plus years I’ve been blogging, but I guess a question has popped up here and there on occasion.  None of which I actually remember, of course.  I’m just a jester.  However, a jester can, and does, wear many different hats depending on the audience he is trying to entertain and perhaps doling out advice is another avenue towards that end: entertainment?  We shall see.

As a follow up to this post, rather than leaving feedback in the comments section, submit questions and I shall answer each of them in a new post, in as timely a manner as I can muster.  That’s a Matticus promise or possum if you prefer, and I always keep my possums.

As the inaugural offering in this fledgling series I shall impart a basic tenet of jesterly wisdom in leading a happy and healthy, successful and soulful, and engaging and entertaining existence: be who you are.

That may sound like odd advice coming from an ex dj who refuses to drop that moniker while also parading around under the written guise of a jester, but that’s all just semantics.  Besides, it is good advice regardless of who is offering it.

Be who you are.

And it’s okay if you don’t know what that means on a day-to-day basis or with regard to long term goals, needs, etc…  And it’s okay to change.  And it’s okay to be confused.  And it’s okay to admit to yourself and others that you don’t even know where to start on the quest to finding the “you” at the core of you.

What is supremely important, however, is that you trust your instincts and you pay attention to what they are telling you.  Don’t mindlessly follow the latest trends, the polarizing and fear-mongering views of the talking heads, or the notions of anyone considered popular.  They aren’t you and the ideas they are peddling are only good as a means to fit in.  Fitting in is not as important as society wants you to believe it is.  Fitting in is a form of control, of relinquishing power and confidence and esteem, so that your behaviors are predictable and can be marketed to.

Be who you are.

Silly, crazy, depressed, smart, angsty, gothic, morbid, joyful, giggly…  It can change from second to second and situation to situation.  You can change your mood, your attitude, your outlook, your approach.  You can adapt to every new situation and apply the knowledge you are constantly gaining from every new experience.  Who you are isn’t set in stone, but the feeling of relief, of peace, that you get when you are true to it is.

Be who you are, and you will be happy.

That’s another Matticus possum.

8 thoughts on “Jesterly Challenge Month – November 14th

  1. Best advice column. Ever. Here’s a possible possum for you — how about some advice on parenting? Not that I’m looking but would love to know the jester’s take on it via advice column 😀

  2. I like this advice. There’s a prison lollipop story that is entirely based upon your bit of advice here… because it’s the kind of good advice you can take with you anywhere. Thank you. ❤

  3. But sometimes being who I am is not who I really want to be…not later, anyway. I am different versions of myself at different times and I need to figure out which me I want to be before I am me, in any given situation.

    We need a phone call. xoxoxoxo

And, begin:

