Jesterly Challenge Month – November 5th

Sheena, who might in fact actually be a punk rocker despite her claims otherwise, asked me to tell a story from the point of view of the Little Prince.  Give it a read and then let me know how I did in the comments.

…..
…..

Why am I awake?  Why was I sleeping?  Why am I alone in the bed?  Why is Momma not here?  Why is Daddy not here?  Why…  Why does my body feel sluggish?  Why does my stomach feel funny?  Why am I still alone?

I better start crying.

Why is this taking so long?  Why does my body still feel sluggish?  Why am I awake?  Why was I sleeping again?  Why am I still alone?  Why is Momma not here?  Why is Daddy not here?  Why does my stomach still feel weird?

Oh, here’s Momma now.  Okay.  All is right with the world.  Oh, she’s so warm and soft.  Oh, she smells nice.  Oh I could just hold her forever and ever and ever and ever and ever…

No!  I will not fall back asleep.  I didn’t want to sleep in the first place.  She leaves me when I’m sleeping and I don’t like that.  I better give her the evil eye… but… oh, she’s so pretty and she’s smiling at me and asking how my nap was and what I want to do today.  What was I thinking before?  Doesn’t matter.  Hmmm, why is my tummy still weird?

Okay, now the sluggish feeling is gone!  Oh my!  I want to jump, jump, jump, jump, jump, jump.  Wait, what’s that noise?  I better ask just to make sure it’s okay?  Oh, okay.  That’s fine.  What was I doing before?  Oh yeah!  Jump, jump, jump, jump, jump….  I love jumping.  Oh, and I love my Momma, too.  I better tell her.

Where is Daddy, though?  I should ask?  Oh, he’s at work?  I should ask why?  Oh, … I didn’t understand that.  I’ll drop it for now but just because my tummy still feels weird.

Wait, Momma’s asking me about food.  Yes, I guess I could get out of bed and go downstairs for some food.  Some string cheese, or an apple, or some applesauce, or some apple pie… Oh!  Or a banana.  Oh!  Or pickles and fishy crackers.  Yum!  Now I’m excited and I want to jump and jump and jump and jump.

What’s Momma saying?  Oh, that’s right food.  Okay, I’m ready now.  Let’s go.  These stairs are fun.  I think I’ll slide down them on my butt.  Fun, fun, fun, fun, fun, fun, fun, fun, fun, fun, fun, fun.  That was fun!  I should do again.  Up, up, up…  Oh, right, Momma is reminding me about food.  Okay.  I’ll slide down the stairs again later.

Hmm… my tummy still feels weird.  Oh look, the windows are open.  And there are birds in the trees!  And look, look!!  Cars are driving down the street.  There’s a bus!!  I better tell Momma.  She didn’t hear me.  I better shout it!  Why is she in the kitchen?  She should be here at the window with me!!  She’s missing out on the bus.  I better yell louder.  And louder!!  And louder!!!!

Momma doesn’t seem too excited about the bus I’m pointing out, but that could be because by the time she got to the window it was gone.  Oh well, she’ll see the next one.  Why is she pulling me away?  Oh, right!  Food.  Yum, yum, yum… but my tummy still feels weird.

I like climbing chairs, though, and standing at the counter.  Oh, I better tell her everything I want.  Yep, she’s doing a great job making a plate for me.  That all looks wonderful…  Whoops.  Should I tell her.  Yep, better tell her.  Maybe I should wait because she just made me this wonderful plate.  No, she will want to know…  “Momma, I’m poopy.”

That’s odd, my tummy doesn’t feel weird anymore.

…..
…..

Daddy’s/The Jester’s final comment:  This is every single time.  Right as we are ready to sit down and eat.  Every.  Single.  Time.

35 thoughts on “Jesterly Challenge Month – November 5th

  1. Score, on multiple fronts. Interestingly, when I was potty training my son, I had the porta-potty in the kitchen. I have an iron stomach so cooking over the smell of an occasionally poopy boy never bothered me, but more importantly, the tiles in the kitchen were easier to clean in the event of mishaps 🙂 Parent’s gotta do what a parent’s gotta do!

    • We’ve set up the small potty downstairs on our tile too. The problem, which isn’t really a problem at all, is that he doesn’t really understand what’s going on yet. It will click eventually. We aren’t worried about that at all.

      • Question: has the Little Prince started the why stage yet? Challenge: building on that question, write a story about some of the funniest/ most surprisingly insightful questions/ deliberations he’s had. (If he’s too young yet, then let’s remember this for another time.)

      • Why would you ask? Why would you want to know? Why, why, why? In other words, yes. We are fully into the why stage and have been for several months (it feels like years). Challenge received, I’ll see what I can do.

  2. Brilliant.

    Maybe you could start popping him on the potty just before meal times and see what happens? Although I do agree that nappies/diapers are very convenient and my 4-y-o nephew still wears one at night (he’s usually dry but he only just started school in September and my sister doesn’t want to push him just yet).

And, begin:

