In Other Words

I’ve felt the lick of flames as a fire ate the earth.
I’ve felt the crackling energy when the heavens flash ablaze.
I’ve felt the wind pushing against me on Whitney’s edge.
I’ve felt the ground quake, swell and drop.
I’ve felt the powerful pull of The Pacific’s rip,
When all it would take is a slip,
And endless waves would wash over top.

I’ve known a cold hearth,
Ironic praise,
Depression’s dregs,
Pain that doesn’t stop,
And heartache’s whip.
This world is a crazy trip.
We aren’t players, we’re the props.

Perhaps you don’t like how I see the world,
Or the words I sprawl across the page,
Calling out its brutal risks and challenging ugliness.
We are allowed to have differing opinions,
And that doesn’t mean we can’t be friends,
As we bend for or against different trends,
While we spin on,
In a flawed beauty,
That knows no comparison.

Just because the world is a mess doesn’t mean it isn’t beautiful.
It isn’t fair and it isn’t supposed to be.
The chaos and pain, the danger and tragedy,
Make it sparkle and shine all the more.
From shore to shore,
All you have to do is look,
And the glory and beauty will fill you till full.

16 thoughts on “In Other Words

  1. Dude, go watch Terrence Malick’s Thin Red Line. You are already into the tone poem side of it. Tell me that in all the misery portrayed in that movie that there isn’t an immense well of sheer beautiful, light-bringing hope. Because there is. And there always will be.

    • I am intrigued by the movie. And have seen the first half of it twice… I’m not sure why I haven’t finished it yet. But, I will try again and report back to you.

      • Please watch it – I implore you. But I don’t want to elevate it. The movie crept up on me, didn’t know anything about it but had heard terrible reviews. It was being compared to Saving Private Ryan… came out at about the same time. People slagged it horribly, and I didn’t go see it in the theatres as a result. Big mistake. This movie nearly eviscerated me. I felt something huge happening throughout, and I’ve never forgotten it. I hope I don’t hype it too much for you. Stop listening to dumb little Trent and have a gander when you can. Let me know how it goes.

And, begin:

