Dream a little dream – the children

I sank into my mom’s couch. I was consumed by work, an interstate drive and various appointments within 40 hours, with very little sleep. I was exhausted.

My mom settled on the love seat. The sun crept into her space. She enjoyed a siesta and encouraged me to do the same. I declined and grabbed a magazine. Sleeping in her house gave me the creeps, day or night.

Despite my efforts to stay awake, my eyes rebelled and succumbed. Within moments, I heard the patter of feet and a giggle. I opened my eyes and saw my mom continuing her peaceful slumber. Then the children entered the room. I hoped this was a dream.

The girl was 4 years old and dressed in a green gingham dress. The boy was a year or so younger and wore shorts and a polo shirt. Both had curly blond hair, wide blue eyes and perfect white baby teeth. I continued to hope I was dreaming and played along.

The boy hopped on the couch to my right. His eyes had mischief and I suddenly grew uncomfortable. I extended my left arm and offered the girl a place on my lap. Then, I felt a nibble on my right arm. Shocked, I turned to the little intruder to admonish him for biting me. As I opened my mouth, the girl laughed sweetly and said, ” this is how we do it, silly.”

She locked my forearm in a grip and pulled it toward her mouth. Her teeth morphed into fangs and her eyes turned vacant. I tried to wake my mom but my vocal cords froze. My consciousness reminded ke that this was most likely a dream. I managed to choke out, “Go away”. I opened my eyes to my mom, who was still sleeping peacefully, oblivious to it all. As I closed my eyes and tried to calm myself, I heard the patter of feet along with a tiny voice that giggled, “bye, bye,”:

21 thoughts on “Dream a little dream – the children

    • Thanks, Elyse. Duncan would give them a run, I’m sure…And haha about the ?…As I do everything on my phone, i can’t say anything about typos.

  1. That was supposed to be an !, not a question mark!,, I was not disputing all the comments from folks above. Would you believe that back in the day, I went to secretarial school?

  2. Ack!
    Okay, so if I ever visit, and we somehow end up at your Mom’s… remind me not to ever, ever, ever fall asleep. Not even a little nap. Not even close my eyes for a little rest.
    Creepy!
    Very well told tale. 😀

    • Thank you! I can’t sleep there and she sleeps peacefully. Chances are, you’d be safe muahahah. My niece is the only other one who has had nightmares. Let me know when you guys are ready for a road trip.

And, begin:

