RawrLove update

AKA – I received a letter from our favorite jaildino.

Here is a snippet I wanted to share with all of you:

“Thank you … for the RawrLove book. You can let everyone know it arrived safely and is absolutely beautiful. I’ve lent it to a few fellow inmates to (carefully) read and they have all been inspired by the kindness and community. I sense a whole new wave of jailbird bloggers. =) The book itself made me cry and miss you all very much – but happy tears, fueled by warm reminiscence. Brandy, my bunkie, commented on how loved I must be, and I let her know that you guys have that much love in your hears for everyone. I am proud to have been part of such a cozy family.
Truth is, I don’t know what to say in the face of such generosity and support. Just … love. Love to you all.”

…..

I’d never received a letter from jail before.Β  It had a lovely red stamp on the front that says “ORANGE COUNTY JAIL INMATE CORRESPONDENCE.”Β  In case the booking number in the return address section wasn’t obvious enough…

I hadn’t ever sent a letter or a book to jail before either.

It’s been a couple weeks full of firsts.

Keep your eyes open for a game we are going to play shortly involving firsts, in a way, that was inspired by something else in the letter from Rara.

85 thoughts on “RawrLove update

  1. I had my letter returned. I missed the “no colored paper” rule. Hopefully she gets my updated one this time.

  2. I am so glad that she received the book and it is bringing her some comfort. Hopefully by sharing the book and our well wishes with others we can help them too by showing people can care.

      • It went well. I will go back. I have Saturdays available. I have a lot to share but I don’t want to share it publicly. Please let Grayson know I am available to visit when he cannot. πŸ™‚

      • I sent another letter out today. I hope she receives it this time. I told her about the one they returned and assured her that I would save it for her. It was very strange to see her through the glass she looked so small. She looks okay though so that is good news and her spirits are as up as they can be given the circumstances. Her smile is still infectious and genuine. I just hope this can reach resolution sooner than later. Everyone at the jail was nice to us. I couldn’t help just wishing I could break her out! sighs…

      • I put another letter in the mail to her today too. πŸ˜€

        I think it would be very strange to see someone with such a free spirit behind that glass… It’s a setting completely discordant with her nature.

        I’m glad that everyone was nice. Being nice wouldn’t have to be part of their job description, so it’s good to know that they understand that it helps the whole process go more smoothly if they are. Thank you for going to visit her. I’m feeling like a terrible friend at the moment because I haven’t made it down there yet.

      • Don’t feel bad. You will. I think the sheriff that checked us in was quite amused with us actually. It was more than obvious we have not visited a jail before. I would say our uncharacteristic sunnyness was probably refreshing. The window is blackened like Grayson said and you cannot see them…well you can a little if you know where to look, but no one does unless they tell you, which our sheriff did, and when I finally saw her I smiled and waved excitedly…there was a lot more to our exchange…but it doesn’t come out as well in print. lol anyway it was most entertaining and made an otherwise uncomfortable setting and exchange more comfortable. πŸ™‚

    • Sending her food?
      We can’t actually send her anything like that. We can fund her commissary account that she can use to purchase better (healthier) food… there are instructions on how to do that… somewhere. I think Samara posted them in a comment section on one of the initial posts…

  3. I received a letter this weekend too. I never thought about sharing part of it. I’ll have to go look when I get off of work to see what’s in there. I think I was too happy to remember what she actually wrote me.

    Sending and receiving letters from someone in jail also both firsts for me.

    • “I think I was too happy to remember what she actually wrote me” – I had to have the letter in front of me so I could pull the parts I wanted while I was writing the post. And I had to read it a couple times just to get over that initial joy of having received the letter and actually comprehend what I was reading.

  4. I got a letter from her earlier last week… I hadn’t thought of sharing it, but I think there might be a snippet that could be shared. I’m glad she got the book. πŸ™‚

    • I was relieved that she got the book… there are so many mailing restrictions and regulations and little nuances to getting her anything that I was sure it would hit some sort of snag… but, yes, hooray she got it! πŸ˜€

    • Yes, plain, white, boring… I don’t know why she couldn’t receive a letter from abroad, as long as it has her correct mailing address with booking number and you include your full return address that should be fine. (plus, include your return address in the letter itself, sometimes the envelopes don’t make it to her in the best condition.)

  5. Okay, so I’ve been trying to figure this out for a while…but why is she in jail? I’m not sure why I can’t find out that information. Could you share please?

  6. I keep going back to Rara’s site, trying to wrap my brain around this entire event. I. Still. Do. Not. Get. It. What is wrong with me?

    I keep thinking this is a game, or a Rara exercise, or a really funny and not-so-funny prank. DJ, help!

    • Ah, a not-so-funny prank… That would make my day if that were true.
      I’ve got nothing… The bright orange lettering on the mail I’ve received from her that says “Orange County Jail Correspondence” makes it all very real. I can’t fathom that she is guilty. I can’t fathom that a jury would convict her were she to take the stand and tell her side of the story. But, I have zero faith in our current judicial system and that leaves me fearing for the outcome all the same.
      I don’t get it either.

And, begin:

