good idea

“You aren’t going to like my answer,” the cowboy grinned mischievously.

“I must know.”

“Well, since you insist,” he swept the old hat from his tired head and looked into the setting sun, “it seemed like a good idea at the time.”

……………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Word Count: 42

This bit of silliness is in response to the current Garbleblaster (with more than a little homage to the movie “The Magnificent Seven”):

β€œTell me something, old friend: why are you fighting?”

And you, dear kingdomites, why are you fighting?

59 thoughts on “good idea

    • Yep, figured after missing last week I’d have to make sure I get this in early this morning. πŸ˜‰

      Now I just have to remember to come back tomorrow and vote!

  1. oh you – I didn’t realise was you til went to your blog. I didn’t post this week – couldn’t think of anything but the last post on this blog is only 42 words – is habit forming

    • Yeah, my pictures got reshuffled with my new theme, and the one I used to use in link ups isn’t available anymore for some reason – I haven’t spent the time to look.
      Yep, the micro fiction posts are addictive. πŸ˜‰

  2. Most things that seemed like a good idea at the time, probably were even if we still can’t see the reason now.

    Regrets aren’t for me.

    I loved the tired, nonchalant attitude of this cowboy, it was written so well I could taste dust.

      • I like to say I have no regrets, and while I don’t let my regrets keep me from doing the things I want, I don’t let them hold me back, there are still some moments from my life I do regret. I see them as teaching moments, experiences I’ve learned from, grown from, and there to keep from making worse mistakes across the years…
        But, still, I’d rather have learned those lessons other ways.

  3. “It seemed like a good idea at the time” I believe we all say that once or twice in our life lol great job

    • Eli Wallach asks the Magnificent Seven why they took the job in the first place, and Steve McQueen replies, “That reminds me of a story about a friend of mine. He took off all his clothes and jumped into a mess of cactcus, and I asked him the same thing.” “What did he say.” “It seemed like a good idea at the time.”
      That’s probably not an exact quote, but it’s close enough.

    • *doffs hat cowboy style* Welcome, welcome. Always happy to meet another fan of cowboys and westerns. I wrote a silly little western novel, if you are interested, that you can find in my “Writing Segments” section.

    • Well… I guess I could write more for this story. But, it would probably be easier for you to just watch the movie “The Magnificent Seven,” because anything I wrote would continue to be an homage to that.
      Though… now you’ve got me curious if I could write something different but still include this scene… and I have been looking for a new project…

And, begin:

