goodbye

Gone.

My muse.

My inspiration and creative outlet.

They left me.  Eventually, they always leave me.

There’s nothing left but the gun in my hand.

Cocked.

Pressed against my temple.

I pull the …

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Word Count: 33

The Trifecta Writing Challenge is stepping away before they lose the passion that has been the driving force over their run of prompts, critiques, and community building.  This week they offer their final prompt:

“For the final challenge here at Trifecta, we considered some flash and dazzle, a wild prompt to send us off with a bang. What we realized was the most achingly beautiful, haunting and dazzling words we’ve read from our brilliant community have been the ones you chose when you were given the freedom to write with abandon. So we’re lovingly, and eagerly, placing the choice in your hands. There’s no topic, no word, just a free write. Go anywhere your mind wants to travel. Take us there too. Just make it count, leave your blood all over this page. Thirty-three words exactly. Of course. We couldn’t end it any other way.”

I will definitely miss their prompts and the challenge to come up with something worth saying in so few words.  And you, dear kingdomites?  Can you leave your blood on the page in 33 words?

73 thoughts on “goodbye

  1. I knew this was fiction (You? Lose your creative muse? Right…) but man I wish I knew the prompt before I read it.

    In other words, quite powerful.

  2. Sorry to hear this site is bowing out. It offered my buddies on another flash site hours, or minutes even, of head scratching teeth crunching enjoymnet

    • Yep. I’m sad to see it go. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the challenges, and some of my longer fiction pieces were inspired by the ideas I first came up with writing responses to their prompts.

  3. Ha! Awesomely melodramatic. And what a way to “leave your blood on the page.” 🙂 I’ve loved reading your pieces here, and I hope you find some new muses! I understand Trifecta is going to be recommending a few.

    • I have a couple other prompts I follow closely too, so I’m not without muse. No worries, there. Plus, perhaps in the absence of being handed a prompt, I will be forced to come up with some original content again. We’ll just have to wait and see.
      Sometimes being melodramatic is a necessity. 😉

  4. While I’m very sad to see Trifecta go, this calls for one thing:
    Speak-Ea-Sy, Speak-Ea-Sy. Say it with me now! Speak-Ea-Sy, Speak-Ea-Sy…

    Just sayin’. You would do well there 🙂

  5. And the icy stream of water woke the muse, and words seeped onto the empty page.
    (Hey, it’s a better image than brains splattered on the page!)
    Great 33… and send off for Trifecta. I’ve enjoyed reading your prompt stories and I’m sorry to see it all end!

  6. You really wanted to bleed on your page,eh?;-)A fantastic and creative take on the prompt-loved it DJ and hope to see you around-sad that we won’t be meeting on Trifecta though.Tc and all the best 🙂

And, begin:

