a valuable lesson

“Don’t look up!”

“Wha…”

“Don’t do it.  It isn’t a bird.  It isn’t a plane.  It certainly isn’t superman.”

“Well, now I feel somewhat compelled to look up.  If you hadn’t said anything I wouldn’t have known there was something there at all.”

Despite John’s admonishments against it, Jacob flicked his eyes skyward and was shocked by what he caught sight of.  The truth of what he had witnessed shown plainly across his face.

“I warned you,” John scolded while shaking his head left and right.

“Why did you say anything at all?”  Jacob thought about it for a minute and then added, “You did it on purpose!  You had already seen it and you didn’t want to be alone in the misery so you told me not to look up knowing that is exactly what I would do…  Jerk.”

John shrugged his shoulders and looked away, “Well, now what?”

Jacob, despite the pain he knew it would cause, stole another glance up into the bleachers.  “I don’t know.”

Distraught, depressed, he walked away.  A moment later John followed him.

In the bleachers, Julia and Jenny smiled knowingly.  Neither had any intention of dating the boys they were currently making out with.  While nice, Kevin and Kyle weren’t really their type.  The two had simply been recruited to serve the purpose of teaching John and Jacob the valuable lesson of ensuring their girlfriends received formal and prompt invitations to upcoming dances.

………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Its silly.  Its fiction.  It must be another Inspiration Monday prompt response:

inmonsterbadge1

The Rules

There are none. Read the prompts, get inspired, write something. No word count minimum or maximum. You don’t have to include the exact prompt in your piece, and you can interpret the prompt(s) any way you like.

OR

No really; I need rules!

Okay; write 200-500 words on the prompt of your choice. You may either use the prompt as the title of your piece or work it into the body of your piece. You must complete it before 6 pm CST on the Monday following this post.

The Prompts:

DON’T LOOK UP
IRREPLACEABLE
CRACKED PROMISES
YESTERDAY’S NEWS
SNAKE OIL BARON

36 thoughts on “a valuable lesson

  1. those prompts look like fun. But I get distracted so easily — look, look a fly on the shade. And I’m doing two prompt writing challenges a week plus a bunch of other stuff. Maybe I’ll just read your entries 😀

  2. Interesting invitation, DJ. I hope you’ll pardon me if I decline it for the time being. However, I will return with an invitation of my own. Please, be prepared.

    • OoO, what kind of invitation? How can I properly prepare without a bit more information? Well, I guess I’ll just have to fall back on my Eagle Scout training and prepare for everything.

  3. Well, now they’re not going to get invited to the dance at all, except maybe by the K boys, who despite (possibly) being told the make-out sessions were just to make the J boys jealous, will (let’s be honest) entertain hopes of having real relationships with the girls.

    An amusing little story – good to have you back! I wonder how the boys will retaliate?

    • Boys don’t retaliate… they hold girls in such high regard – fabled creatures that can never be wronged for fear of the wrath that might incur… Or, something like that.

And, begin:

