Let the games begin

fauxpocalypse books contests

5 days.  5 books.  5 contests.  5 winners.

Seems pretty straightforward to me.  This week in The Matticus Kingdom I will be hosting a new game/contest each day.  The winner each day will recieve a signed copy of Fauxpocalypse.

Doesn’t that sound great?!

Let’s get to it!

1ST CONTEST:

Let’s start off easy.  Leave a comment or multiple comments, as many as you’d like.  At the end of the day I will assign a number to each comment and then use the randbetween Excel function to select a winner.

Super easy.  All you have to do is comment and you could win a copy of the book.  The more you comment the more chances you have to win.

So, what do you want to talk about?  What’s on your mind?

 

202 thoughts on “Let the games begin

  1. So I know I already bought it but I really need one with your good ol’ Herbie Hancock plastered on the inside. Mkay? Thanks. Bye.

    • Hahaha
      Thanks.
      Though, the work me is currently working on writing some vba script using a sql query to pull data similar data from two different servers and only display the information that matches, so I can use that information to populate a PivotTable used as a check against hard coded files. 😉 That seems slightly more impressive than knowing the randbetween formula. 😛

    • I’m sorry I missed this yesterday. I was well past my first cup of coffee then, though today I’m on my first cup. I was doing okay. I’m still doing okay. And you?

      • Kind of hazy, but not really cloudy. Warm, or it will be shortly. Sadly. I’m ready for winter already. I know I have the luxury of saying that because my winter is never really as bad as most people have it, but I did move away from the desert for a reason.

      • I didn’t know you were a desert rat too. I spent most of my life (which is considerable) in Albuquerque. I miss the stark beauty and colors, but not the lack of water, dry skin, and constantly shocking myself. We haven’t had a real “traditional” winter so far here in the Northwest. Would like to see some more snow, but not like they are dealing with in the mid part of the country.

      • Yeah, I grew up in the Mojave Desert. Very near Death Valley. (Our town sign on the two freeways that go closest to us (but not through us) proclaims: Visit Ridgecrest: Gateway to Death Valley. The kids of the town, with nothing better to do, often paint over “Valley.”)

      • Might I suggest doing so in winter. Or, very early spring. If you time it right you can see all the wildflowers in bloom. It’s actually very nice.

    • What the what?
      Who replied to what?
      I’m lost!!
      It happens to me a lot in the kingdom so don’t worry. I’ll find myself again soon. Probably. Maybe. Okay, you might want to organize a search party.

  2. Wow, step away for a lousy meeting and look what happens…

    If I win the book, does that increase or decrease my chances of winning the lottery? Or will fate say “ok, you won something, next in line please”?

    • That’s a good question.
      No, winning the book doesn’t make you less likely to win the lottery.
      I’d actually argue the other way. Lucky people tend to win things in bunches. So, start with a book victory today and come up with the lottery numbers tomorrow? Sounds good to me.

    • Hmmm, if my words could make it so, it would have already happened. Words I can do. Actual physical snow-transportation systems? Not so much.

      What part of PA? I have family in Carlisle and Pittsburgh (Moon Township).

      • You just have to set your mind to it! Maybe.

        I moved to Pittsburgh in October. It’s probably a nice place, but I moved here after living in Hawaii for a year. PA is hard to handle after that, even though I grew up the equally cold state of CT. I’ve even started reminiscing about cleaning the sand out of my car’s cupholders. Never could get it all.

        ANYWAY, back to reality… I’m looking forward to your games this week!

  3. Thanks! Unfortunately, my money tree never took root and I couldn’t afford the island life anymore. Living on minimum wage there required the choice between paying rent or buying food…

      • You know, I tried that one night, and a local homeless fellow stole the dress I had nearby… I found it later hung over a branch… Thankfully I had my bikini, but it was an unnerving experience nonetheless!

      • Oh my, that would be unnerving.
        I think the only way I could over sleep on a beach is if there had been lots of drinking beforehand. And it was more liked passed out, rather than sleeping.

      • Hehe yes that helps. The downside is that when you wake up after a wine-induced snooze and realize that there is a homeless man nearby and that your clothes are not where you left them, you wonder how long he has been there and if you may be going crazy.

  4. You know, it’s surprisingly hard to “just comment”… I saw what I had to do in order to have a chance to win a copy if your book and I was like “I can do that!” and then I was like “…but now I have no idea what to write in my comment…” lol 😀 Like commenting writers block… lol

  5. Where have I been all day?
    Tripping down memory lane on my blog, and missing all the fun.

    And wanting to know who won the Tug of War – think I’ll go check out FP’d…..hmmm

    • Sorry, the Tug-Of-War results will be delayed a bit as more numbers are getting added to the mix due to the FP. Plus the kingdom tallier was totally slacking and got the numbers all mixed. I’m going to have to sort through it and try to make heads or tails of it. Or, Marvel or DC of it, as the case may be. 😉

  6. I can’t believe I missed your marvel vs dc! So ashamed. That was one awesome post you reblogged, though! Laughed my head off. Glad to know I’m not the only mom who does weird things with her kids’ toys. I want to win this contest.

    Wherever did you put your Sad Pony and Squirrel stickers?

And, begin:

