The first time I saw…

… the moon, I was held in thrall by its ebb and flow and the way it did grow as it made its way down low.  From then on it was my main foe.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Word Count: 33

This bit of silliness brought to you in response to this week’s Trifextra:

This week we are asking you to count syllables.  And words.  It’s a lot of math for those of us who might be more accustomed to dealing with words, but we’re confident you can pull it off.
We are asking for a 33-word response to the following snippet:

The first time I saw. . .

Here’s the catch: all of your 33 words must be one syllable each.  We’re going low-brow on your this week.  Or not.  Can you class it up under these restrictions?  Give us your best.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

How did I do?  Did I class it up?  Or was my little rhyme “low-brow?”

68 thoughts on “The first time I saw…

  1. I like it!

    The challenge you posted last week is going to turn the rest of my hair grey. I don’t know how you fiction writers do this on a regular basis!

    • We cheat.
      The secret is to no over think it… especially for the little flash pieces, because you don’t have to worry about an extended plot or future character development. So, we just start typing and let the words take the story where they will… unchecked, uncomplicated. 😀

  2. My mind immediately when to something crazy so there’s no way I could class it up and write one. You did a great job with it though. Ahh, the moon.

    • Thanks! I’m glad you like it.
      The moon… as a teenager I used to wonder how it could have so much power but only choose to express it in control the tides. I wanted it to share its power with me, but it never did.

      • Just during the winter? I thought it was cloudy all the time up there?

        I grew up in the desert, and now that I live in a big city, I miss the whole night sky. I used to see a sky full of light and blinking stars, and now I don’t get to see much of anything at all… except the moon.

  3. That darned, Bjorn!!! I was going through all of the comments, saying to myself, “No one has mentioned a werewolf yet! No one has mentioned a werewolf yet!” And then, second last comment from the end……..freakin’ Bjorn, beats me to the punch. Makes me want to howl! 🙂

  4. Matticus! It’s been awhile. Not sure if you still remember me but we met on BBW.

    I was looking at the Trifecta page today (really, I was looking at how to get my blog out there even more), and saw your link! I love these 33 words that you came up with (don’t care that you “cheated”). I might do this and talk about leaves or tape or something.

    See you around!

    • The 33 word challenges are both refreshing and, well, a challenge.
      On days when I don’t have a lot of time to be creative, I like that they limit how much I can write. And, on days when I have a great idea of what I want to say, I struggle to get it down to just 33 words.
      For this post, there was so much I wanted to say about why the moon was my foe… and I said some of it but had to cut it down to get to the target. In the end, perhaps it was best that the statement was vague?

      • I really liked it. Sounds like you have a bit of poetry-prose going. I love that stuff.

        I haven’t heard of this challenge before, will have to give it a shot.

      • Trifecta puts out new challenges every monday, and switch up between exactly 33 word responses, and responses between 33 and 333 words. Check it out! I think you’ll come up with some great ones.

      • Not that sheltered! I’ve seen you commenting on some great blogs.
        And there are too many challenges out there anyway. Can’t possibly do them all.
        I’ve wondered recently if I rely on them too much anyway. Wouldn’t it be better for me to come up with some original posts, without needing a prompt to get me started?

      • I do, but I’m selective. I don’t comment on that many blogs, but when I follow I like to really participate. But honestly, I don’t get out much, even though I love meeting people who want to talk.

        I’ve never actually done one of the prompt things, but I think it would be interesting to compare what I do with what other people are doing.

      • This is the part where I admit that I’m a terrible participant in these challenges. I write them, I link them, I post them… but I don’t often see what everyone else is doing. Partially, that’s because there are a lot of participants. Partially, that’s because they aren’t all regulars on my blog and I try to save my time for the people who stick around for all of my silliness. Partially, that’s because I’m lazy and a terrible blogger.

      • I’m the same way. Save the efforts for the people who stick around. There are very very few people I follow on regular basis who don’t ever really reciprocate. I hate to be that way, but there’s only so much time. Plus I have a terrible memory. The more someone shows up, the more likely I am to head over. The ‘essential reads’ are withering up for me.

        I’m a worse blogger than you, dude, trust me.

  5. I thought about going with the moon, but then I went with a typical love at first sight poem. Original, right?

    Are you a werewolf? Their brows are low.

And, begin:

