playground chat

Susie looked at Jake in disbelief, “But, why?”

Jake shook his head and shrugged his shoulders.  The toes of his right shoe twisting a hole into the soft sand of the recess area.  He looked away, embarrassed, unable to meet his friends gaze, and then looked back with a shy smile.  “I don’t know, that’s just what she said.”

“Say it again.”

“My mom said, ‘Jake, from now on you are confined to quarters!'”

“And when did she say that?”

“We were at the pizza place on Main, and I had just spent my entire allowance in the arcade.  She found out and went ballistic.  We’re talking full on meltdown right there in the arcade, in front of all the other kids, she hauled me off to the table and wouldn’t let me leave my seat again until it was time to go.”

“But, she didn’t ground you?”

“Nope.”

“I forget, are those coin machines or dollar machines?”

“Dollars.”

“Hmm, so, she was saying your allowance was going to be paid in quarters from now on…  Nope, I don’t understand it either.  You can always just take the quarters to the clerk and he’ll happily switch them to dollars for you.”

“I know.  I’m a bit surprised my mom didn’t think of that.  I’ll just have to be more careful about staying down there too long.”

“Smart.  Anyway, it’s your allowance, why shouldn’t you get to spend it at the arcade?”

“I knew you would understand.  Hey, are you ready for today’s math test?”

Susie grimaced and shook her head no, but Jake knew that meant she would probably ace it.  She almost always did.  He rolled his eyes at her feigned distaste for the subject and made a mental note to sit with her a lunch so they could quiz each other.

“Come on, the swings just opened up, and we’ve still got ten minutes before the whistle!”  Susie raced off to the swings and Jake followed.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Word Count: 328

This bit of playground silliness brought to you in part by a true story, though I was grounded, and they were quarter machines, and I never got an allowance, but I did get in trouble for spending too much money at the arcade at the pizza place… twice… back to back weeks, if I recall correctly, and in part by this week’s Inspiration Monday writing prompts:

inmonsterbadge1

The Rules

There are none. Read the prompts, get inspired, write something. No word count minimum or maximum. You don’t have to include the exact prompt in your piece, and you can interpret the prompt(s) any way you like.

OR

No really; I need rules!

Okay; write 200-500 words on the prompt of your choice. You may either use the prompt as the title of your piece or work it into the body of your piece. You must complete it before 6 pm CST on the Monday following this post.

The Prompts:

CONFINED TO QUARTERS
KNIT TOGETHER
SPILLED PAINT
ECHO
DELIBERATE

12 thoughts on “playground chat

  1. Reblogged this on Eccentric and Bent and commented:
    This is a nice snapshot of some of our childhood memories. I was never reprimanded for spending too much at the arcade (my mom usually spent too much playing air hockey to have a problem with how many quarters my sister or I dropped into ms. Pacman, Centipede, or Galaga) but she would question our other expenditures for sugary treats. But I remember huddling with friends to try and figure out why adults made no sense with their rules. I mean why did we really have to come in at 4PM cause the street lights came on when it wouldn’t be dark out until 7PM? Or why couldn’t I go in my friend’s house just because no adults were there? Now that I am an adult I know the answers and my kids think I’m crazy. (I am but not about the rules.) 😉

    • Really? It seems like a good way to get the kid out of your hair for a bit. For me, anyway… grounding was sitting on the floor, in the center of my bedroom, doing nothing. No games. No books. No talking… I imagine it was probably bliss for my parents.

And, begin:

