Ninjas!!

Anna tapped on the computer screen and asked, “What is this?”

Tom, took his glasses off, rubbed his eyes and then looked up at his older sister.  As always, his infectious smile spread across his lips.  “It’s an article I’m writing about Ninja’s under Niltha’s Star.

“Niltha’s Star is a not-so-secret gang that has been building in power and size recently downtown, and there have been several reports that men dressed as ninjas, with the Niltha’s Star emblazoned on the back of their black suits, brandishing knives, nun-chucks, scythes, and other weaponry have been terrorizing the other downtown gangs.  It’s all very exciting.”

“I know who Niltha’s Star are.  I was just thinking the title of your piece isn’t conveying the right message.”

“What do you mean?”  Tom’s smile wavered slightly as he looked back to the computer screen to see what he had typed across the top.  “It looks fine to me.”

“Read it aloud?”  Though she truly did try, she couldn’t keep a hint of laughter out of her voice.  Tom was her brother, after all, and it was impossible for her to not take some pleasure from pointing out a mistake he had made.

“‘NUNS with Knives,’ what’s wrong with that?”

Anna twirled her hand, indicating he should read it again, and, with heavy sigh of exasperation, Tom obliged her.

“‘Nuns with…,’ oh.”  He chuckled, as his fingers went back to work on the keyboard, “Thanks, that would have been a somewhat embarrassing if I had sent that off to my editor as is.”

Anna patted him on the shoulder and then left him to his work, “Any time lil’ bro, any time.”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I was drawn to this prompt because silly, and as the Jester of the Matticus Kingdom I’m drawn to all things silly.  But, you already knew that, didn’t you?  And, I bet you also already knew that this was my response to this week’s Inspiration Monday writing challenge:

inmonsterbadge1

The Rules

There are none. Read the prompts, get inspired, write something. No word count minimum or maximum. You don’t have to include the exact prompt in your piece, and you can interpret the prompt(s) any way you like.

OR

No really; I need rules!

Okay; write 200-500 words on the prompt of your choice. You may either use the prompt as the title of your piece or work it into the body of your piece. You must complete it before 6 pm CST on the Monday following this post.

The Prompts:

UNDEFEATED
SECOND BOOKMARK
FLASHLIGHT
NUNS WITH KNIVES
CALLIOPE

20 thoughts on “Ninjas!!

  1. Fascinating what a Google search for ‘Nuns’ finds… especially when you add the word ‘knives’. Seems we both find our initial inspiration in the same place. Thing my nuns will have to be ghosts… playing a calliope. Feel a novel there somewhere. Thanks djmatticus

  2. Any time I’m in an underground parking garage, I become convinced that I’m about to be attacked by a gang of ninjas. Now I’m going to be worried that nuns with knives will also attack.

    • Based on the name, I’m going to go ahead and not click on the link (fearing that is is NSFW), and guess that the two are completely different…. But, thanks for the laugh! 😀
      I’m not sure I want to know why you knew of this movies existence…

  3. I must be missing out on the joke or something because I don’t get it. So I googled….

    Is this it?

    St. Benedict’s Monastic Rule of Life had this advice for the nuns.

    LET THEM SLEEP CLOTHED AND GIRDED WITH BELTS OR CORDS–
    BUT NOT WITH THEIR KNIVES AT THEIR SIDES,
    LEST THEY CUT THEMSELVES IN THEIR SLEEP–
    AND THUS BE ALWAYS READY TO RISE WITHOUT DELAY
    WHEN THE SIGNAL IS GIVEN
    AND HASTEN TO BE BEFORE ONE ANOTHER AT THE WORK OF GOD,
    YET WITH ALL GRAVITY AND DECORUM.

    • Good point. But, isn’t it interesting that we so rarely thing of those utensils as actually being “knives.” Well, I guess we do but we don’t consider them dangerous.

And, begin:

