worth it

“You’ll fall…”

Jared heard his mother’s admonishing warning as he dangled from the edge of the slide.  His fingers were losing their grip, but he wasn’t worried about that.  He’d fallen before, from greater heights,  when he hadn’t been expecting to, hadn’t been prepared for the plummet and impact.

“I’ll be okay mom,” he called back to her.  He didn’t even bother turning to look.  He could tell from her voice that she was wearing her disapproving face.  A grounding would be his reward, but he couldn’t help it.  He had to let go and feel the pull of gravity.  Even if she had threatened him with no video games for a month, Jared still would have been exactly where he was, letting the anticipation build, waiting for the last of his fingers strength to give out.  “You worry too much.  I know what I’m doing.”

“Mister, you pull yourself up and slide down properly this instant!”

Jared continued to wait.  His fingers ached gloriously and his feet, dangling loose below him, swayed back and forth deliciously tasting their freedom from his weight.  It wouldn’t be much longer.

“Jared!  I’m going to count to three.”

Jared smiled because he knew she’d never make it to three.  Only three of his fingers, two on his left and one on his right, remained wrapped around the edge of the slide.

“One.”

Jared’s eyes went wide as the middle finger of his left hand popped off.  He could feel gravity working on him and his last two fingers sliding from their perch.

“Two!”

They gave way.

Jared screamed and giggled as his arms and feet frantically flapped at the air for purchase.  He felt like he was flying.  He felt like he weighed nothing and could soar into the heavens.

His mom screamed too, of course, but he barely heard her over his own cacophony of noise at first and then his peals of laughter after landing safely on his ample tush.  She was not amused.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Word Count: 333

It’s Monday.  This was silly.  It must be another Trifecta Writing Challenge:

his week we wanted to do something to mark the Jewish holiday of Hanukkah, and we foolishly thought that would be easy.  There are so many amazing Yiddish words that found their way into the English language, and we thought it would be great to highlight one.  To find one with a third definition, however, was not so easy.  We thought all was lost until we stumbled upon this gem.

tush

1. a long pointed tooth; especially : a horse’s canine
2. an interjection used to express disdain or reproach
3. buttocks (slang)
27 thoughts on “worth it

    • I’ve been guilty of swing hurling too. 😉
      Once, the chain got caught in the shirt I was wearing and it stopped my forward momentum. I ended up flat on my back, watching the swing go back and forth inches above my nose, while waiting for my breath to return.

  1. It’s amazing so many boys make it to adulthood. I’ve been here with both of mine! I keep saying they’re going to break something. So far, I’m wrong, but one of these days…

    • Of all the crazy things I did growing up, I only broke my arm once… while rollerblading… while failing to properly execute a jump over a bridge/walkway thing… and even then I’m not sure it was broken until I decided that the crash was sufficient enough that I should take it easy for awhile… so, I went home and played basketball with the hoop over my garage. Did a fade away shot from distance, snapped my wrist, and felt it crack…. Yep, broke my wrist playing basketball. 😛

    • This post may have been inspired by watching my son (8 months) figure out how to pull himself up on the oven door… up meaning feet off the floor. Up. And, more than just a bit of reminscing about my own climbing adventures.

  2. Great dramatic tension, well written and fun! My daughter would swing at the top of slides and terrify me every time. You captured that so well!

  3. Ha!ha!Kids!Loved this piece and though my daughter was never the adventurous kind,I definitely know what it felt like for the Mom:-)Very well written DJ:-)

And, begin:

