chores tackled, for a price

“What are you talking about?”

Jillian had been rambling over breakfast, and Jake had only partially been listening until dollar amounts started getting thrown into his wife’s sentences.  That, as always, grabbed his full attention.  He set the paper aside and peered over the top of his glasses.

“Weren’t you listening to me?” She teased, feigning pouty lips while batty her eyelashes at the same time.

He shook his head, “No, but I am now, so what are you talking about?”

“This great new service Amy was going on about at the salon today.  They come into your house and do the chores you don’t want to do.  Everything is negotiable.  You don’t wash the cars or pets, they’ll do it.  You don’t want to help the kids with homework, they’ll do it.  You don’t want to watch a show with your spouse, they’ll do it.”  Jillian was brimming with excitement over the idea.

“For a price, of course,” Jake tried to tamper her enthusiasm.

“Silly, yes, of course for a price.  They are providing a service, why shouldn’t they get paid?”

“Fine, but, what kind of prices are we talking here?  Let’s say I want to watch “Dude, Where’s My Car” tonight, and I know you have no interest in joining, but I don’t want to watch it alone.  How much would they charge for that?”

Jillian tilted her head and thought about it for a minute.  “I’m not sure, I think for movies they charged by the hour and it was only $15.  But there were different packages you could sign up for that included different levels of service.  They could bring snacks with them to share.  They could study up on facts and trivia about the movies and engage in discussions during and/or afterwards depending on your preference.”

Jake didn’t say anything, but he raised his eyebrows, obviously intrigued.

“Do you want me to find out more about them?”

“Why not.”

“Okay, “Substitute People” added to my list for tomorrow…  You didn’t really want to watch that stupid movie tonight, did you?”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

This bit of silliness inspired by The Queen (she picked the word and the movie) and the Inspiration Monday prompt:

The Rules

There are none. Read the prompts, get inspired, write something. No word count minimum or maximum. You don’t have to include the exact prompt in your piece, and you can interpret the prompt(s) any way you like.

OR

No really; I need rules!

Okay; write 200-500 words on the prompt of your choice. You may either use the prompt as the title of your piece or work it into the body of your piece. You must complete it before 6 pm CST on the Monday following this post.

The Prompts:

EXTRA STRENGTH
THE ONE WHO LIVED
BURROW
FARADAY
SUBSTITUTE PEOPLE

42 thoughts on “chores tackled, for a price

  1. I recently read an article about cuddling services – you pay people to hold hands, spoon, etc. with you. All above-the-table with strict boundaries drawn, but still…just creepy.

    This “watch a movie with you” thing, though – there might be something to that. But I’d have to request someone who (a.) Had similar tastes as me and (b.) hadn’t seen the movie before. Sometimes when I’m watching old favorites, I wish I could watch them with someone for the first time, so I could see all their fresh reactions and remember what it felt like to watch it the first time.

    This was another fun one – and thought-provoking, to boot!

    • Cuddling services….
      Hmm… well, combined with movie watching that could be just the ticket! 😉
      Not sure the Queen would approve.

      I thoroughly enjoy watching movies I love with people who haven’t seen them before. I get that opportunity a lot with the Queen who was never big on movies before we met, so I’ve been able to introduce her to a lot of wonderful films.

And, begin:

