i will

What is wrong?
What do you need?
Something to read?
Another song?

I can walk you and rock you,
I can comfort and soothe too,
But I don’t know for sure,
Why you must rise,
Every 45 minutes,
All
Night
Long

Is there nothing I can do?
Is it simply the full moon?
Are you just being a loon?
Can you give us a clue?

I can walk you and rock you,
I can comfort and soothe too,
But I don’t know for sure,
Why you must rise,
Every 45 minutes,
All
Night
Long

It’s okay my Little Prince,
You can close your eyes and rest,
Though our patience you will test,
At your cries we’ll never wince.

I will walk you and rock you,
I will comfort and soothe too,
And that will never change,
Even when you rise,
Every 45 minutes,
All
Night
Long

23 thoughts on “i will

    • Frowny face?
      But, really, it was a poem about always being there for the Little Prince! That’s worth a πŸ˜€ for sure!
      Okay, so it’s a bit sad that there wasn’t much sleep, but, that isn’t all that uncommon these days. Plus, I never slept that much to begin with. So, it’s all okay.

  1. Very beautiful … so, ok, being a dad involves little sleep for awhile … but, it’s wonderful that you could find the beauty in the moment, and write about it so beautifully.

  2. This is beautiful. I know this will sound cliched but actually you do miss it when it’s gone. Now my youngest man is 2 we don’t do that night time thing any more and I do miss holding his little body in my arms and feeling his cheek against my face.

    • I know I’ll miss it. I don’t ever mind cliches either, and don’t fully understand people’s objections to them recently. Okay, they get used a lot… but they get used a lot because they are fitting… enh, that’s just me.
      Back on point. Yes, I know I’ll miss it. I was thinking that last night as I was walking him around and he fell asleep in my arms. Some day, before I’m ready, he’ll be too big for me to do that anymore…

And, begin:

