a limb for a limb

“Hey, how’s it going?”

“I’m really sawed off!”

“Why?  What happened?”

“My parents sawed off the lowest limbs of my favorite climbing tree.”

“What?  Really?  Why?”

“The neighbor was sawed off about the mess of leaves in his yard.”

“That seems silly.”

“I know, and I offered to clean up the leaves but my parents just went and sawed off the limbs instead.  They didn’t even give me a chance.”

“That seems unfair.  They could have at least…  Hey… what’s that?  What are you going to do?”

“Oh, this?  This is my sawed off shotgun…”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Well, that takes “an eye for an eye” to a whole new level, doesn’t it?  I wonder if he was going after his parents or his neighbor…  Either way, I’m creeped out and I wrote it!  Silly, silly, me.  I guess that’s just what happens sometimes when the InMonster attacks:

inmonsterbadge1

The Rules

There are none. Read the prompts, get inspired, write something. No word count minimum or maximum. You don’t have to include the exact prompt in your piece, and you can interpret the prompt(s) any way you like.

OR

No really; I need rules!

Okay; write 200-500 words on the prompt of your choice. You may either use the prompt as the title of your piece or work it into the body of your piece. You must complete it before 6 pm CST on the Monday following this post.

The Prompts:

PREMEMBER
FAVORITE WIFE
SEA SAND
TELL THE TOOTH
SAWED OFF

51 thoughts on “a limb for a limb

  1. Hi D.J. we are new to your blog by way of mutual blogging friend Alice. Great story! And he was going for his parents & the neighbor. lol~ We’ve included our story for your prompt using “Favorite Wife”. Hope you like it.

    Favorite Wife:
    “Would you like a glass of water?” The Detective asks.
    “Why…do I look thirsty?” Maddox answers.
    “No. I was just being polite. How bout a cigarette?” The Detective offers.
    “I don’t smoke.” Maddox says irritated by his offer.
    “But you have a lighter in your hand right now.” The Detective says staring at the man as he tosses the expensive, gold, Zippo from one hand to the other.
    “It belonged to my favorite wife.” Maddox answers holding his hand out for the cop to see.
    “So…about your wife…why don’t you tell me what happened.” The Detective says, lighting a cigarette.
    “Your the cop, shouldn’t you tell me?!” Maddox says arrogantly.
    “Your the murderer, you’ll have the best details.” The irritated cop says, taking a drag of his cigarette & eyeing the man.
    “I stabbed her twelve times. One stab for every year I had to endure her annoying mouth.” He says with a smirk.
    “But I thought she was your favorite wife.” The Detective says confused.
    “If she was my favorite wife, do you think I would’ve stabbed her?” He answers with a smirk.
    “Then whose your favorite?” The Detective says impatiently.
    “Emma.”
    “Emma?! And where is she?”
    “Dead! Shot in the head once!”

    • Hello, and welcome to the kingdom, feel free to kick of your shoes and stay awhile…
      Though, perhaps I should lock away our armaments first. I’m not sure you can be trusted with them. 😉 Fun little story, thanks for sharing it here!

And, begin:

