sunrise

upside down fire

sunrise

The sky was wrong: the bed of hot coals was supposed to rest beneath the raging flames not rise above them.  What could have caused the confusion?  My mind immediately went to the Riders.  Had they passed through recently?  Had their steeds, or their quarry, churned up the sunrise and spread the coals across the horizon in their wake?

My eyes searched for any sign of them thundering along the edge of darkness.  Where did the swath of destruction lead?  What would I find if I followed?

Were they headed my way?

I gripped the wheel tighter and moved my eyes back to the road.  Let them come, if they would, I was ready for them.  I turned my truck and drove into the heart of the fire.

 

15 thoughts on “upside down fire

And, begin:

