Updates from the Land of the Jester

It would appear that my grandiose plans to continue posting with the frequency I normally pester all of you with, as well as keeping up on reading all of your wonderful posts and leave poignant comments, and write a novel in the month of November (on top of, you know, work, the wife and baby, finding time to eat and sleep, etc…) was ill advised.

That was a really long sentence.

Here is the shorter version:  Jester Fail.

I’m sorry I haven’t been visiting your sections of the blogosphere and engaging in the back and forth in the comments that makes up such a giant part of what makes this space wonderful.  I will do better.

I’ll try to do better.

The good news is that I’ve been rocking it in my NaNoWriMo project, and have already reached 30,000 words!  (30,136 as of hitting publish on this post.)  So, I’ve got a large enough buffer to get me through the end of this week and the beginning of next week when the Queen and I once again drag our 7 month old away from the comforts of his home and venture out on another adventure.

If you’re keeping score (and I know you are), in the Little Prince’s short life he has already spent nights away from home in: Redlands, CA, Ridgecrest, CA, Mammoth Lakes, CA, Kings Canyon National Park, CA, Portland, ME, Wiscasset, ME, Rockport, ME, Bar Harbor, ME, and Carlisle, PA.  Tomorrow night we add Phoenix, AZ to that list.

What’s wrong with us?

Don’t answer that!

Anyway…  the point of this entire post was to once again drive home the fact that the Queen and I are nuts, off our rockers, the wheel is spinning but hamster is dead, not quite right, bonkers, crazy, and patiently waiting for those nice young men in their clean white coats…  Oh, and to apologize for failing to keep up with your awesomesaucyness.  Oh!  And, to tell you how NaNo has been going for me.  (Great!  If you hadn’t already figured that out.)

I hope you all have a wonderful day, week, month, Thanksgiving, this, that, and the other!  You’ll see me popping up on your blogs soon.

52 thoughts on “Updates from the Land of the Jester

  1. Hooray! Congrats on your word count – That’s amazing! I’m hitting 14K today which is super exciting. I’m trying to write 2K a day and 5K on the days I attend write-ins. So far, so good 🙂 I think I could write more but I’m trying not to burn myself out with dance, work, life, etc. You know the drill! Keep it up!

    • 2K a day is fantastic!
      I had to push myself hard these first couple days to make sure I was covered to miss a few days while I’m out of town. I know I’m not very good at playing catch up, so if I did already have the words and fell behind my chances of winning again this year would decrease significantly!
      Keeping balance is super important, definitely don’t to burn out. Happy writing. Are you planning on sharing your story when it is done?

      • That’s smart! I’m definitely trying to maintain a cushion. November is full of traveling, gigs, and my yearly sinus infection so hopefully I’ll have enough to keep me above water. Though, if for some reason I don’t ‘win’, I don’t really care, as long as I finish it through December.

        I don’t know what my plan is for when it’s finished. I’ll have some mega editing to do once my first draft is done and then we’ll see. I’m diggin’ the story so far though. It’s coming a lot easier than I thought it would! 🙂

      • Isn’t that fun?! When you sit down and start typing away and everything flows easily – like the story was there already and you just have to get the words out. I love it when my writing goes like that.

  2. That’s a lot of miles for a little tyke. I hope you have him on a frequent flyer program. At this rate he’ll have enough miles earned to go to Europe for his first birthday! 🙂 Congrats on the fantastic word count so far. Keep it rolling. And try taking a break every now and then. Trust me, the Queen will appreciate it.

  3. Hmm..you’re right. It sounds totally crazy …BUT if we don’t try we wouldn’t know…right? Just not too sure what it is that we wouldn’t know.
    Congrats on that amazing word count! 30,000…that’s awesome!
    Well you know, if your Prince decides to be a professional traveler…he’d have a heck of a resume 😉

  4. Good for you , doing NaNo… it’s a tough task, even without all the work and family obligations. So, focus on your writing …. all out blog posts will be waiting for you next month … it’s not like they disappear.

    Of course, since I gave you trolls, I expect to be high on your reading list. 🙂

  5. Could you please pass me some of that nanowrimo awesomeness? 30,000 words! You’re way ahead of everyone. How long is your novel aiming to be 100,000? I passed 10000 last night and now I’m having a hard time getting past 11000..haha! Tonight and the weekend, I need to catch up and get ahead big time before I head out of town the next weekend..*faints*

    • Not sure how long it is going to be… The words will decide that on their own. I had to get a good jump start on the word count because I won’t be able to write towards it for the next five days or so while I’m visiting family. And then when I get back into it I won’t keep up that same pace… so, I’ll probably be cutting it close to hit the 50K by the end of the month… We just have to see where the words take me. 😉

And, begin:

