the truth of it

 photo River_zps5b7476e4.jpg
Image credit: DJMatticus
My family and I stopped at this spot during one of our yearly backpacking trips through the Sierra a couple years go.  Having made good time and in no parcicular hurry to head out of the mountains we decided to spend an extra day here.  The small river cut through a meadow with wild tall grasses.  We saw deer across the water the first day we were there.  The weather was perfect.  The setting was perfect.While the water was somewhat cold, it was shallow enough that it wasn’t too cold to enter, and also shallow enough that we could walk across it to get from our camp to the other side.  (That makes me think of a joke: Why did the backpacker cross the river?  Stumped?  To fish the other side, of course.)  I took this picture while standing in the middle of the stream.  My Teva’s giving me purchase on the sandy and rocky bottom, my kreel strung across my shoulders and my fishing pole grasped firmly in my left hand.

That moment captured through this photo is one of the reasons I love the Sierra.  The serenity of it.  The beauty of it.  The quiet unblemished steady flowing of the water, the breeze rustling the tall grasses, the giant trees reaching for the sky.  The sun offering its comforting warmth depsite the chilly of elevation.  Why wouldn’t you want to visit this place?

This picture is one of the couple I have in regular rotation as desktop backgrounds.  It makes me want to get in my truck and drive up into the mountains, find a similar spot and disappear from the world for awhile.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

This is part 1 of my response to this week’s picture writing challenge provided by moi.  Since he is using one of my pictures I’ve giving you both the truth of the picture and also a piece of flash fiction to go with it as well.

19 thoughts on “the truth of it

And, begin:

