Q (Forrest) and A (Gump)

This week’s theme is fairly evident, if you haven’t figured it out just based on the post title, it’s all quotes from Forrest Gump.  This series was thrown together based on a request from Merry aka Marlene.

Do you have a movie you’d like me include in these Q and A sessions?  Or a theme?  Or a specific actor?  Let me know in the comments and I’ll see what I can put together for you.

(All previous Q and A iterations are here.)

As a reminder:  The Q’s are life situations you may find yourself in, and the A’s are the corresponding quotes from movies that you could considering using in those situations if you were mad like me.  But, I am a professional Jester, so take that into consideration before trying them on your own.

Q: What should you say when you find yourself in a scary situation?
A: “Dear God, make me a bird. So I could fly far. Far far away from here.”
– Young Jenny Curran (Hanna Hall)

Q: What should you say when someone asks what your purpose is?
A: “To do whatever you tell me, drill sergeant!”
– Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks)

Q: What should you say when your wife asks you to mow the lawn?
A: “And cause I was a gazillionaire, and I liked doin it so much, I cut that grass for free.”
– Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks)

Q: What should you say when you to the public pool?
A: “I’m here to try out my sea legs.”
– Lieutenant Daniel Taylor (Gary Sinise)

Q: What should you say when someone asks why you don’t have a car?
A: “Now you wouldn’t believe me if I told you, but I could run like the wind blows.”
– Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks)

Q: What should you say when you hear about a bad person getting away with an evil deed?
A: “Sometimes, I guess there just aren’t enough rocks.”
– Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks)

Q: What should you say when you don’t want to talk about something?
A: “That’s all I have to say about that.”
– Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks)

Q: What should you say just before it is your turn to pick up the next round at the bar?
A: “I’m pretty tired… I think I’ll go home now.”
– Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks)

Q: What should you say to the various religious groups that come knocking on your front door?
A: “You can’t keep trying to rescue me all the time.”
– Jenny Curran (Robin Wright)

Q: What should you say to your sweetheart when she asks why you are always so good to her?
A: “You’re my girl!”
– Forrest Gump (Tom Hanks)

………

I could watch this movie every day and I would never tire of it.  I find that is true of most Tom Hanks films.  And you?  Did you love this one or find it too cheesy, too over the top, too in your face?  I use several of these quotes on a weekly basis, I bet you can guess which one I use the most.  Here there be fast running, shrimping, love, rebellion, war, and life which may or may not be a monster.  Thanks for playing along.
37 thoughts on “Q (Forrest) and A (Gump)

    • Yeah. I use a ton of quotes from this movie. “box of chocolates” “‘it’ happens” “run Forrest run” “You’re my girl.”
      It is one of my favorites.

  1. Excellent stuff. Thank you. Ever tried “The Americanization of Emily”? Or anything with a Paddy Chayevsky script! Or — “The Lion in Winter” … since you asked …

  2. I wish I could think of it now, but there is the line I used to use when my kids should either come home or not do something…the line where Forrest tells Jenny, “I think you should GO HOME TO….”. So many quotes…so many movies…keep going!

And, begin:

