Imagine Remix

Raving has a bad rap…  and while a lot of what goes on in the warehouses and clubs is as seedy as the media makes it out to be, there is always an underlying theme, a community, that is so bright and loving that the harsher aspects are negated.

PLUR

Peace. Love.  Unity.  Respect.

Four simple words.  Four complex words.  Four words that I raved by.  Four words that if they could be transported out of the rave scene and brought to the homes of all those people who fear what they don’t understand, shun new forms of music and expression, and have shut their hearts and their minds to the possibilities that there may be better ways to do things, the world would truly be a better place.

It was the summer of 2003.  I was at the Electronic Daisy Carnival at Queen Mary Park in Long Beach, CA, grooving to one of my favorite dj’s.  And he dropped a remix of John Lennon’s “Imagine.”  A song that reflects PLUR better than any other song I know.  It was perfect.

In honor of that moment and those ideals, I have revamped Imagine, hopefully Lennon will forgive me or, at least, understand:

Imagine there’s no clubbing
It’s painful if you try
No decks below us
Above us the lights died
Imagine all the people
Not raving today…

Imagine there’s no records
It is too hard to do
Nothing to hear and dance to
And no remixes too
Imagine all the people
Not raving in peace…

You may say I’m a raver
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will be as one

Imagine no disc jockeys
I assuredly can’t
No time for beats or rhythm
No musichood of man
Imagine all the people
Not raving the world…

You may say I’m a raver
But I’m not the only one
I hope someday you’ll join us
And the world will live as one

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Written as a thank you to Merry for helping me reach this major milestone.   The initial request was: “You can guest post for me anytime. Something say, Beatles perhaps?”

Well, how did I do?

…..

Are you a faithful kingdomite?  Do you have a request?  Let me know in the comments and I’ll see what I can put together for you.  (And for all those who already have their requests in, don’t worry, I have them all written down and I’m already working on them.  Your posts are coming.)

17 thoughts on “Imagine Remix

And, begin:

