rise

Rise and paint the sky
Choose a shade from the wheel of blue
Flights of birds take to the air and cry
Newest blemish in the hue

Rise and brush the colors with light
Glowing spirals on show
Brighting man’s might
Growing the buildings they have sewn

Rise, sun, and shine
Cast your warmth down to last
My pursuits grow upon the vines
Ask nothing of the past

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

One of the good things about having to get up early and head to work, is that I usually get to watch the sunrise, except for the longest days of summer and the shortest days of winter.  I head nearly due east from my house to the office and I have hills I have to climb through on the way.  The sun likes to nestle behind those hills and has more than once inspired a bit of those wordy words out of me.  This morning there were clouds hanging on the horizon in patches, and light was just beginning fill in below them and above the hills… like a stroke of slightly lighter paint being brushed across the sky…  the rest followed from there.

28 thoughts on “rise

  1. I’m taking a break from packing boxes. Someone asked me the other day if I was sad to be leaving this place where I’ve lived for three years. My immediate thought was how much I would miss watching the sun rise over the water. Unfortunately, I can’t write poetry to save my life, so I’ll borrow yours. 🙂

    • Borrow away. Leaving a home where you get to watch the sun rise over the water? What are you thinking? Hopefully you’ll find something equally as magical in your new place. Different doesn’t have to mean worse, look for the positives and you’ll find them. And for some reason I doubt that you can’t do poetry.

  2. Great post Matt. I think that noticing the sky and all of the wondrous things that are in our lives from nature allows us to appreciate and connect with life. How often do we just glide through life and not notice all of the things like a sunrise, a sunset, or a starry night that we don’t even see because our minds are elsewhere. Thanks for keeping me in the moment and keep on writing about it. 🙂

    • Yes, we do miss a lot as we pass through this world – focused on the task we are heading to next. Thanks for reading and I’ll do my best to keep finding those moments we might otherwise miss.

  3. I drive home from work east into the sunrise, which I generally get to see from about November through February. Unfortunately, around the equinoxes (like now), the sun is literally right above the roadway, and the pretty colors of the sky and other sights (like the road and any cars in front of me) get lost in the powerful glare….

    • There are certain days both driving to work (due east) and driving home from work (due west) where all I see out my windshield is the glowing ball of fire. Not fun, and more than a little scary.

    • No worries. 😉 It was a couple months ago… I think probably during that period where you weren’t logging on as much. And, Thank You! I had fun putting this one together. Sometimes the words just come to me, and sometimes I have to figure out what I should say, how I want to put it together and where the rhymes should go… this one was a struggle in that sense, but I’m happy with how it turned out and I enjoyed the process.

And, begin:

