it’s the beat

Initially I was going to share a story about one of the first times I stepped behind the decks to spin at a club: the songs I selected, the feeling of being there, the energy from the crowd, etc…  But then thinking about that I decided that it would be more fun to share the various songs that have shaped who I am over the years and what I associate with them now.

What follows is a list of emotions and situations and the song I pair with them automatically in my mind:

When I’m happy:


Bruce Springsteen – No Surrender

When I’m sad:


Gary Jules and Michael Andres – Mad World

When I’m angry:


Rage Against the Machine – Bulls on Parade

When I’m lost:


Tiesto – Just Be

When I’m driving in the mountains:


Crystal Method – High Roller

When I’m nostalgic:


Simon and Garfunkel – The Sound of Silence

When I’m feeling romantic:


U2 – With or Without You

When I’m feeling heart-broken:


Foo Fighters – Best of You

When I’m getting ready to exercise:


Blink-182 – Go

When I’m tired:


Green Day – Brain Stew

When I think of music:


Solar Stone – Seven Cities

Obviously not a complete list… I didn’t even pull any Johnny Cash, any Offspring, any Mozart, any Insane Clowne Posse, any No Doubt…

So, put me in a situation, give me an emotion (in the comments), and I’ll tell you the song I put with it.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Put together as a thank you to Not a Punk Rocker for helping me reach this major milestone.   She requested/said: “You can write about music, good or bad, too.”

Well, how did I do?

…..

Are you a faithful kingdomite?  Do you have a request?  Let me know in the comments and I’ll see what I can put together for you.  (And for all those who already have their requests in, don’t worry, I have them all written down and I’m already working on them.  Your posts are coming.)

39 thoughts on “it’s the beat

    • Either – Rolling Stones – No Satisfaction, if you aren’t happy that there is still an hour and half to go, or, if you are happy that there is only 90 minutes left – Black Eyed Peas – I’ve Got a Feeling

  1. There are certain songs I associate with certain memories, but, as far as emotions I’m feeling, I’m not sure I associate particular songs with them, more like a particular genre… when I’m sad I listen to The Blues, and certain kinds of jazz — Miles Davis, for exapmle…. when I’m happy, it’s anything goes, when I’m writing, or trying to focus, classical…

    But, as for your request for emotions … what do you listen to when you’re feeling peckish?

And, begin:

