What else is a weekend good for?

Love that it’s Friday
And a long weekend as well
Time for courting sleep

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

It’s Friday, and this is silly, so it must be a Trifextra prompt response:

“This weekend’s prompt comes from Hello, Cheney, whose lapse in memory was a happy accident for us.  This weekend we’re asking you to harken back to your grade school days and write a haiku.  No word restrictions, just stick to the structure as defined below.  And check out Cheney’s turkey post for an example.

HAIKU (noun)

: an unrhymed verse form of Japanese origin having three lines containing usually five, seven, and five syllables respectively”

37 thoughts on “What else is a weekend good for?

  1. Sleep?! Holiday weekends are all about packing in more fun than should be allowed in such a short time! Although your son might be young enough you can sleep. At 7 and 11, my boys make sure that the fun starts at 6:30 AM- holiday or not 🙂

    • 6:30AM would be sleeping in for me! I was already at work by then this morning. And, yeah, the little prince is only 5 months old, and teething, so a long weekend gives me an extra day to pack in as much sleep as I can because I’m not getting a lot of it the rest of the time.

  2. After years of sleep deprivation, I *am* courting sleep again, finally. Can I just offer that your patience will pay off–sleep will come to you, again, some time down the road? 🙂

    • Shh, don’t tell anyone, but the secret is that some nights I get more sleep than I ever did pre-baby because I’m going to bed earlier. I’m not getting solid sleep, of course, but I’m really not doing all that bad right now. This week was just hard because we couldn’t figure out what time zone we were supposed to be on – the kiddo was still on east coast, but work wanted me to be on west coast…

      • That was so hard for me, the getting to bed earlier part. I’m so glad you are disciplined enough to do it, but I guess your body would tell you that. 🙂 Hope you’re back in your own time zone…

And, begin:

