last chance, part 3

Anton’s final attempt at grasping magic failed, but when he went to activate the explosives he found they’d been removed.  In place of the last incendiary device, he found a note to seek out Professor Hoya before he did anything else.  The wording was such he felt compelled to comply.

The failed magician relaxed when Hoya smiled at him.  Anton may not have understood magic, but he understood people and was quite adept at reading them.  From her body language he knew he had nothing to fear from her.  He didn’t even flinch when she placed the explosives on the desk between them.

“I have a job that requires your expertise.  The area will be under higher surveillance than the campus so you’ll need to be even more cautious setting up the explosives and detonating them.  I can put a cloaking spell on you, but you will still need to operate quickly and quietly.  Is that a problem?”

The young man pondered the offer.  Sure, it wasn’t magic, it wasn’t the power he had lusted after his entire life, but it was still something he enjoyed doing and knew he was good at.  It was still a kind of power.  “Shouldn’t be a problem.  What’s the job?”

“First things, first,” Hoya replied.  She stood from her chair and pulled an iron from the fire burning in the corner of her office.  She had to be careful to pull it out without disrupting the cauldron that was bubbling above the glowing coals.  “If you are going to work for me, I need to brand you.  It’s a mark of honor, it’s a pass to get you places you wouldn’t be able to otherwise, and it will be infused with a few spells to afford you a small amount of protection in your journeys.”

Plus, she thought as she approached him, I’ll be able to track you no matter where you go.

“Hold still, this is going to hurt, and please try not to scream.”

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Word Count: 333

I’m continuing the story of Anton, the failed magician in response to this week’s Trifecta Writing Challenge:

BRAND (noun)
1a : a charred piece of wood
b : firebrand
c : something (as lightning) that resembles a firebrand
2: sword
3a (1) : a mark made by burning with a hot iron to attest manufacture or quality or to designate ownership 
     (2) : a printed mark made for similar purposes : trademark
b (1) : a mark put on criminals with a hot iron 

     (2) : a mark of disgrace : stigma <the brand of poverty>
4a : a class of goods identified by name as the product of a single firm or manufacturer : make
b : a characteristic or distinctive kind <a lively brand of theater>
c : brand name
5: a tool used to produce a brandPlease note that we are asking for the noun, not the verb.Remember:

  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • If your post doesn’t meet our requirements, please leave your link in the comments section, not in the linkz.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone. Please join us.

61 thoughts on “last chance, part 3

    • Yes. Probably. I’ve got a couple ideas already that I’m kicking around in my head based on one-off stories I’ve posted that got a lot of good feedback… I’ll probably decide on one of those and run with it. Then again, its hard to commit to anything right now because who knows what the little prince will let me spend my time doing come November.

      • Awesome! I’m pretty excited about it. Time is most certainly an issue but being able to at least start some of the ideas I have rolling around in my head will be fun.

      • Great! Are you going to post what you come up with or keep it offline so you can try to get it published later? Last year I posted everything. This year I may post snippets but keep the bulk of it offline… I haven’t decided yet.

      • Hooray! Selfishly, that means I’ll get to read at least part of it (without having to wait for the final version to get published in hardcover). 😉

  1. Nicely done mate. The brand is a great touch. I still wona ear more of this story.
    And bring on the NANO!!!!!!!!! I have no idea what I’m gona write this time. Are we aloud any hints as to what you might write?

    • I think it will definitely be some form of fantasy – of the mystery/backpacking adventure I wrote last year, and the western I’ve been working on a lot this year, I’m ready to get back into sorcery and sword battles. I like this failed magician idea and may just run with it… probably not the same storyline that I’m doing here, but something similar.

  2. Just say no, Anton! Any chica who wants to slap a brand on you and have you do her dirty work is a red flag to run away!
    I can’t wait to see where this goes. Thank you for linking up!

And, begin:

