an alias to remember

Over the course of our lives we pick up many nicknames and aliases.  Your friends may call you one name, your parents another, your lovers something else entirely.  This is the story of why, for a time, I went by Fred Richards.

……

I knew straight away that I was in trouble.  I was smitten.  I was lovestruck.  I was captivated.  I was willing to drive 350 miles every other weekend for a year and half to be with her.  That says enough on its own, doesn’t it?

It’s also very telling that she drove the other weekends.

When circumstances changed and it became feasible to live together, I moved away from my college town, to rent an apartment with her in an area near where she had been living and worked.  I knew then, even before all the boxes were unpacked, that it was only a matter of time before I asked the question that I hoped she would say yes to.  However, I bided my time for a little while longer as I tried to come up with a suitable manner to propose, a fitting expression of my love and devotion.  I wanted to wow her.

Inspiration struck: she was a dancer and I wasn’t.  What if I took lessons in secret?  What if I learned for her?  What if I could figure out a way to surprise her with that?

With only a vague idea of what I was getting myself into, I worked with her boss to figure out how I could take lessons, and as my would-be fiance had access to and monitored the student rolls, we determined that I needed an alias while I was in the studio.  Fred (part of my middle name and a family name) Richards (my father’s middle name and a family name) was born.  I frequented the dance studio for several months, making sure that my time there didn’t coincide with her time there.  I learned, I danced, I stumbled, I learned some more.

And then the timing was right.

An opportunity came up where Fred Richards could have a lesson with her as the instructor.  I showed up.  She was very surprised, and a bit flustered.  We danced and it was perfect.  That night she came home to flowers, candles, a poem, and, of course, a proposal.

She said ”Yes!”

Then the work really started for Fred Richards, for me, as I had to cram to learn the routine for the first dance!

It may have been Fred Richards who learned how to dance, but I was the lucky one dancing the rumba with my queen.

…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Word Count: ~449

This is my first attempt at a Yeah Write Challenge:

67 thoughts on “an alias to remember

  1. My day has been kind of crappy, and I really needed to hear a sweet story before going to bed. Thank you for changing my perspective. Your queen is lucky to have a partner who is so creative and romantic. May your dance together last a lifetime.

    • I’m very sorry to hear that you were having a crappy day, and I’m glad you found my little story to brighten things up for you. I hope you have a terrific day tomorrow!

      • Haha, yes! But that is THE question I ask after submitting anything to YeahWrite. I swear I agonize. I’m not sure if anything I write ever has a So What, haha!

      • Your submissions definitely do! I think it must be hard for us to analyze our writing that way when it’s something so personal… of course we think it’s got a “so what” in it… it happened to us, and everything that happens to us is important… How can we step aside and view it with a critical eye, from someone else’s perspective and be able to view it fairly. It’s in our nature to then be overly critical. We go from thinking everything is important to thinking everyone must certainly think our experiences are trivial, boring,… not worth reading.

    • Frederick… I considered using that as the formal first name and then just using Fred informally, but I thought that might tip her off to what was going on. Not that many Fredericks out there anymore.

  2. well done! being part of the family and married to one of the family fred’s 😀 I was lucky to be at the wedding and witness that beautiful first dance but I did not understand the whole story, I love it, you two (oops now 3) are so good together. Loved the alias, so creative.

    • 😀
      Awww, I forget to talk about having ice cream at the wedding instead of cake! (We worried about transporting the cake up the gondola – which reminds me! I forgot to mention we had our first dance at 9,000 feet – at McCoy station at Mammoth Mountain.) Back on point though – it’s the ice cream that made it so sweet. 😉

    • She figured it out about 15 minutes before I walked through the door – her being her, she was trying to find out about this student (Fred Richards) that she hadn’t met yet… and everyone was being vague, and so she pulled out my file… and there were enough clues in there she pieced it together.

    • All that sneaking around makes it sound bad! Haha, and, honestly, she wasn’t very happy about that aspect of it either… secrets and surprises. It all worked out okay though.

  3. Love it! My husband and I are terrifically bad dancers (don’t tell him I said that) and often at night when the shades are drawn, we dance and it’s awful and we just laugh until one of us (usually me) might pee in their (her) pants. Love the way you piqued curiosity in this with talk of the fake name in the beginning and how it turned out. 🙂

    • Glad you enjoyed it. I don’t think their is such a thing as “bad” dancers – as long as you are up and moving, you are dancing and that’s all that matters. 😉 We’ve done our fair share of living room dancing silliness too. There is something to be said for it – it doesn’t have to be professional dancing to still be magical.

    • amused/touched? yes
      pissed? yes
      She really isn’t a fan of surprises and she didn’t like that a bunch of people, though necessary to set the whole thing up, new about the impending proposal before she did. Then again, she didn’t really like that I asked for her dad’s permission either… 😛

And, begin:

