legacy

“If we don’t unite, we will certainly die.”

Thomas let the statement hang in the air for a second, let the truth behind the words sink in with the gathered few.  The flickering glow of torches surrounding the house and the shouts of the mob drawing nearer, louder, and more agitated helped expedite the decision to band together.  Nearly as one, the mages nodded in agreement.

Reclusive, secretive, untrusting, it had taken their numbers being isolated and persecuted to the point of extinction for them to even agree to meet.  They had sat in silence, staring at each other, unwilling to be the first to admit they needed help, they needed to do something.  They were all waiting for Quentin, the eldest and indisputably the greatest of them, to speak first, to advise them one way or the other.

He sat there, face hidden in the darkness under the hood of his black robes, refusing to speak, refusing to acknowledge anything from the other magicians to the approaching horde intent upon wiping them from existence.

After all but Quentin agreed to stand as one, a few more moments of silence, other than the noise outside, elapsed and then Quentin rose from his seat and threw back his hood.  His eyes burned with the orange of a molten lava fire, and electricity crackled from his finger tips.

He seemed immense in the small room, as though he were growing larger and the room was growing smaller at the same time, his shadow rose along the wall and ceiling.  “I’ll band with you, my brothers,” he hissed and they could feel the venom dripping off his words.

One by one they smiled and then turned their minds toward the spells they were about to unleash.  Perhaps they were headed towards their deaths, but they would go down fighting, they would take many with them, and if magic were to disappear from the world that night they would give it a legacy that would never die.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

Word Count: 333

It’s Monday again, and I’m writing about magic (I wonder what it is about these challenges that make me write about sorcery?), so that must mean it is time for another Trifecta Writing Challenge:

BAND (verb)

1: to affix a band to or tie up with a band
2: to finish or decorate with a band
3: to gather together : unite <banded themselves together for protection>

Remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • If your post doesn’t meet our requirements, please leave your link in the comments section, not in the linkz.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone. Please join us.
41 thoughts on “legacy

  1. A world without magic would be a sorry place to be. There is something noble about taking a courageous stand, against great odds, in defense of something that matters, near and dear, to your heart. You captured that sense of purpose and solidarity extremely well. Great work. Thanks for linking up. 🙂

    • And thank you for reading and commenting! It’s kind of funny how this post worked out – what I ended up with is not what I thought I was going to be writing when I started. It was going to be darker, with betrayal and in-fighting…

  2. Quentin is scary – I’d hate to be against him! When I first read this and when he stood up and removed his hood, I thought he was going to demolish the others. I’m glad he didn’t, though.

    • I think the other mages in the room were also a bit concerned that’s what might happen… I’m glad they decided to unite too. I wonder how it all turned out…

      • I agree with Janna…I’d hate to be opposed to Quentin…however I have to wonder if I’d want to be allied WITH him either…great post!

      • You have to make tough decisions sometimes to fight for your rights… But, yeah, I’d certainly be wary of him while working with him.

  3. I’ve been watching entirely too much HARRY POTTER so Voldemort (the snake references etc) came to mind and I thought.”.A world without MAGIC? Well what would Jacob do? What kind of life would that be?”

    I liked your use of the word and your descriptions were vivid and spooky. Into the great fight we go.

    thanks for linking up! 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment… hadn’t intentionally tried to bring Voldemort into it, but as HP is always ever present in my mind, sometimes its hard to step away from it all. It works its way in whether or not I’m trying to do it.

    • Bewitched is a great show! And… I um… can twich my nose… and wiggle my ears too. 😉 I just keep waiting for the magic to come coursing through me. So far… nothing. But, there’s always tomorrow.

And, begin:

