Redford Newman Q and A

After last week’s Johnny Depp post (and the Val Kilmer and John Candy posts before that one), I decided to continue on the one actor theme but with a slight twist this week.  Rather than my typical “Q” that is a situation you may find yourself in, and the resulting “A” quote, this week we will be doing two (or three) lines: one from Robert Redford and one from Paul Newman.  You’ll understand once you start going through them.

Confused?  Lost?  Filled with angst?  Not sure where you are, what’s going on, and why everyone is laughing?  Well, I can’t help with any of that, but I can point you here just for the heck of it.

As you read these – let your imagine roam, and see where you might be tempted to use them in your life: situations you’ve already lived through, people you’ve dealt with, etc…  I’ve used all or part of every single one of these back and forths:

Butch: “[low voice, to Sundance] Listen, I don’t mean to be a sore loser, but when it’s done, if I’m dead, kill him.”
Sundance: “[low voice, to Butch] Love to.”

…..

Sundance: “I can’t swim.”
Butch: “Are you crazy? The fall will probably kill you.”

…..

Sundance: “Hey, Butch?”
Butch: “What?”
Sundance: “They’re very good.”

…..

Sundance: “What I’m saying is, if you want to go, I won’t stop you. But the minute you start to whine or make a nuisance, I don’t care where we are, I’m dumping you flat.”
Butch: “Don’t sugarcoat it like that, Kid. Tell her straight.”

…..

Sundance: “Which way?”
Butch: “It doesn’t matter. I don’t know where we’ve been and I’ve just been there.”

– Butch (Paul Newman) / Sundance (Robert Redford) – Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Johnny Hooker: “‘S good. He threatened to kill me.”
Henry Gondorff: “Hell, kid, they don’t do that, you know you’re not getting to ’em.”

…..

Johnny Hooker: “He’s not as tough as he thinks.”
Henry Gondorff: “Neither are we.”

…..

Henry Gondorff: “You not gonna stick around for your share?”
Johnny Hooker: “Nah. I’d only blow it.”

…..

Henry Gondorff: “Is Lonnegan after you too?”
Johnny Hooker: “I dunno… I ain’t seen anybody.”
Henry Gondorff: “You never do, kid.”

– Johnny Hooker (Robert Redford) / Henry Gondorff (Paul Newman) – The Sting

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Bonus Q and A’s just because I want to.

Q: What do you say about someone who has retired after a long career?
A: “She had worked both ends against the middle for so long, the middle decided to give up and go home. ”
– Nathan Muir (Robert Redford) – Spy Game

Q: What do you say when someone asks what code you live by?
A: “A man of honor always pays his debts… and keeps his word.”
– John Rooney (Paul Newman) – Road to Perdition

………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Also, I’m giving away one million Matticus Kingdom points to the first person who can tell me what “Setec Astronomy” means.

That’s right.  One.  Million.

………

Redford and Newman are probably two of my favorite actors, and the films they appear in together definitely are near the top of my favorites chart.  It seemed fitting to call them out here after touching on Val Kilmer and Johnny Depp in previous weeks – they are all fine character actors.  Here there be legends.  That says it all.  Thanks for playing along.
13 thoughts on “Redford Newman Q and A

  1. Took two quotes for me to finally remember who Henry Gondorff was.
    It was the memory of Eileen Brennan saying “Henry” that did it.

    Setec was familiar but I had to Google it. One of my favorites, and James Earl Jones protesting that he isn’t running a dating service was icing on the cake.

And, begin:

