I’m not a Henderson

When I was very young, while camping in Kennedy Meadows in California, a crew of researchers swarmed the area we were camping in.  They set up cameras.  They made casts.  They collected samples.  They watched and waited.

Two summers ago, while camping along Bubbs Creak on a backpacking trip in the Sierra, my brother and I went on a late evening water run (pumping fresh water to replenish what we drank with dinner), and my brother froze as he saw something walking upright on the periphery of his vision.

Last summer, while camping at Ranger Lake also on a backpacking trip in the Sierra, we found a print in the mud that could easily have been the imprint left by a large rock… except, there was no large rock, there were no other prints around it to explain why the “rock” had vanished, and the shape of the print could just as easily been that of a foot sinking into the mud as a giant bipedal creature walked along the shore.

These are not my only encounters with this particular cryptid.  Over the years there have been unexplained noises in the night (easily brushed off as wind through the trees, known animals calling out to each other distorted by towering canyon walls and filtered through the dense forest).  There have been glimpses of movement, barely perceptible (could have been a bear or a deer pushing through the brush).  There have been moments when it feels like you aren’t alone and something is watching your every step (the mountains are a lonely, quiet place, and it is easy for paranoia and fear to settle in).

No, I’m not a Henderson, but I believe in Bigfoot all the same.  Every time I venture into the wild I wonder if that will be the time I see the elusive creature for myself.  It is a moment I eagerly await and completely dread at the same time.  Not every Bigfoot story involves giant hairballs in the neighbors pool.  If I never see it, though, that won’t keep me from knowing that it is out there all the same.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Okay!  Who’s ready to go camping with me now?

Thanks Rara and Dave of The Queen Creative for another great prompt:

pftpep-s2ep8-cryptozoology

Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Cryptozoology is the search for legendary animals, usually in an attempt to evaluate or confirm the possibility of existence.  This includes looking for living examples of animals that are considered extinct, such as dinosaurs; animals whose existence lacks physical evidence but which appear in myths, legends, or are reported, such as Bigfoot and Chupacabra; and wild animals dramatically outside their normal geographic ranges, such as phantom cats. The animals cryptozoologists study are often referred to as cryptids, a term coined by John Wall in 1983.

More on Wiki: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cryptozoology

Suggested Prompts:

  • Tell us about your favorite cryptid
  • Make up a new creature or animal, and perhaps one day it will be legendary enough. What animals is it similar to?
  • Tell us about a cryptid you want to believe in
  • Share your thoughts on cryptozoology
  • Show us a picture related to cryptozoology
  • … or make up your own related prompt!
29 thoughts on “I’m not a Henderson

  1. ill go 😀 fascinating stuff. reminds me of a few encounters I’ve had, not with a creature as such but just weird goings on.

  2. Sign me up! Living in CA as a little kid, bigfoot fascinated and terrified me.

    My niece’s nickname is Satchquatch. She is 14 years old with size 11 feet. Her siblings tease her mercilessly.

    • You aren’t an outdoorsy person?!! What???? But… but…. you live in CA… near the beach… it’s one of the prerequisites for living here, isn’t it?! I’m going to have to look up the state charter to make sure, but I’m fairly certain it says all residents must be “outdoorsy.”

      • Haha! I’m pretty sure it is a requirement. I just keep my head down and hope no one kicks me out, 😉 though it’s come close a few times. Especially when people find out I live within 10 minutes of every beach and haven’t been in a decade, 😉

      • You haven’t been to the beach in 10 years?
        Okay, next time the queen, prince and I are in your neck of LA we will find you, and take you… at night, when it’s cool, and less crowded, but you can still enjoy the power and beauty of the waves.

      • I’m assuming they’d be cousins, the Grog Hollow Monster shares a bit of Bigfoots “look”. It’s said to be some hybrid of a wolf and a bear that, depending on the person giving the description, sometimes seems to be upright instead of running on all fours.

        I’m not sure how long the stories have been going around but it’s been since at least the 70’s.There’s still reports now and then, mostly hunters or campers that see something that isn’t quite right.

And, begin:

