it’s Val about Q and A

After last week’s John Candy tribute, I decided to continue on the theme of sticking with one actor for the whole series of Q and A.  We all can agree that Johnny Depp is a truly talented character actor… but, this post has nothing to do with him.  Instead, we are going to dive into the memorable quotes from another amazing actor…

He’s played a Saint, he’s played a Spartan, he’s played an Iceman, he’s played a Doc…  the entire spectrum of the human experience is within his ability to capture and portray.  Agree?  Disagree?

That’s entirely up to you, but if you have no idea what’s going on, you should probably start here.

Over the years I’ve incorporated a mind-blowing amount (“infinity times infinity”) of movie dialogue into my day-to-day lingo.  This week’s theme, as already discussed, is all about Val Kilmer’s roles.

Q: What do you say to someone who keeps calling you saying they need your help when it always ends up being something they could have figured out for themselves?
A: “The Batsignal is not a beeper.”
– Batman – Batman Forever

Q: What do you say when you are asked why you are with your significant other?
A: “For me the sun rises and sets with her, man.”
– Chris Shiherlis – Heat

Q: What do you say to someone who won’t shut up and has proved their incompetence over and over?
A: “I don’t think you’d know where to put food at, if you didn’t flap your mouth so much. Yes I think you’re stupid.”
– Perry – Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

Q: What do you say when someone asks who you are?
A: “Nobody has a clue. Least of all me.”
-Simon Templar – The Saint

Q: What do you say when someone asks for your help (and truly needs it)?
A: “Give me a sword, I’ll win this war for you.”
– Madmartigan – Willow

Q: What do you offer someone who isn’t feeling all that well?
A: “Want some more dope? Want a Dr. Pepper?”
– Scott – Spartan

Q: What do you tell a friend you trust completely?
A: “You can be my wingman any time.”
– Iceman – Top Gun

Q: What do you say to someone dressed a bit unusually but who is managing to “pull it off?”
A: “Sir, let me take this moment to compliment you on your fashion sense, particularly your slippers.”
– Chris Knight – Real Genius

Q: What should you say when someone asks why you do what you do?
A: “Darling… you know how God invented liquor so the Irish wouldn’t rule the world. Well, I think he may have invented being stubborn so we can be the best at something.”
– John Patterson – The Ghost and the Darkness

Q: What do you say to someone about to do something supremely foolhardy?
A: “In pace requiescat.”
-Doc Holiday – Tombstone

How many of these have you seen?  What is your favorite Val Kilmer role?  Do you agree is just as great a character actor as Johnny Depp?

………

I think there may be something wrong with me.  Do I have any words that are my own?  It’s a bit disconcerting that I pull so much from movies.  I am constantly afraid that when I’m doing some writing on one of my work’s in process that I’m just plagiarizing the crap out of  something I’ve seen or read before.  Anyway, I hope some of you respond with your thoughts on Kilmer vs. Depp.  And never forget, here there be monsters, gunslingers, fighter pilots, detectives, and, as always, silliness.  Thanks for playing along.
25 thoughts on “it’s Val about Q and A

    • Under utilized? I wonder if that is by choice? Perhaps he chooses which projects he wants to work on, perhaps he enjoys being selective and only working when he needs/wants to? Maybe he is as celebrated “in the scene” as he is by those of us who pay to watch his films but he just doesn’t want to work as often as some of his peers?

  1. I’ve seen all of em but Ghost and the Darkness, and while Real Genius and Willow are tried and true favorites my personal opinion on his best role is The Salton Sea….definitely not because he wears leather pants 😉

    • While I have seen this one I wouldn’t say that it was one of my favorites. It wasn’t a terrible movie, but, it certainly wasn’t Tombstone, or Top Gun, or Kiss Kiss Bang Bang… 😉

  2. Val vs. Depp? They are both candidates for “Best Actor” (if you ask me, which nobody, especially the Academy, does. Ever). Their diversity of characters alone makes them great.
    It never occurred to me to compare the two. Perhaps there is something the matter with me…

    • Nothing the matter with you. Val has sort of fallen out of the spotlight in recent years while Depp has come on in leaps and bounds… so, out of sight, out of mind.

  3. Die hard Depp fan from day one here. So, no Depp beats Val everyday in my book 😉 But my favorite Val movie, probably The Ghost and the Darkness, though Real Genius runs close seconds.

    • Depp Q and A on tap for Friday. 😀 The Ghost and the Darkness is great… and great and making me not want to venture into any dark alleys, rooms, streets, buildings… pretty much anything. I can feel the eyes watching me…

  4. I’m late to this party,(I had 847 emails /post notifications, ads, etc in my INBOX).NO, Val Kilmer was not a better actor than Johnny Depp.(I agree that he was good in Ghost and the Darkness) And btw, when he and Marlon Brando were doing”The Island of Dr.Moreau”, they had so many fights going on it was almost impossible to make.He was the only one I ever heard of who was harder to deal with and less likeable than Brando.One of the several directors who worked on it,(they kept leaving) said,”Will Rogers never met Val Kilmer”.
    [You know, right.Will Rogers was famous for saying,”I never met a man I didn’t like.]

    • I was aware of that. I had heard that he was difficult to work with… which is unfortunate. I still think he is of the same calibre of actor as Depp… owning a role, making it his own, making it believable… I’m not saying that one is better than the other… just they are both great at what they do.

And, begin:

