one dark night

I shuddered.

It seemed like the thing to do.

The darkness surrounded me, pressed in on me, enveloped me.  I was engulfed by it.  I could no more see the hand that I was frantically waving in front of my face as I could see the streetlamp outside my bedroom window 400 miles away.

That wasn’t what made me shudder though.  I was used to facing darkness in the mountains where there are no man-made lights to cut into the night and where a few clouds can hide away even the meager glow of the moon and stars.  That sort of complete darkness was fine, in small doses.

What made me shiver, that cold lonely evening camped by myself deep in the Sierra, was when the normal sounds that accompanied the darkness, the chirping of crickets, the skittering of chipmunks, the breeze rolling down the passes whistling in the leaves above my tent, ceased abruptly.  I was left in a world seemingly devoid of sight and sound.  They were both complete in their lack of any stimuli.

The shiver ran up my spine and my teeth chattered in my skull.  The sound of which, at least, proved that my ears still worked.   But, I could sense the grinning silence was working on a sound I wouldn’t appreciate at all.  The mischievous quiet was up to something I wouldn’t like.

The heavy footsteps were on top of me before I even had time to register their approach.  The panting and huffing of the bear made me shudder again even as it reached a paw out to shake my tent.

………………………………………………………………………………………………….

This scary little tale was written in response to the current InMon Writing Prompt:

inmonsterbadge1-150x150

The Rules

There are none. Read the prompts, get inspired, write something. No word count minimum or maximum. You don’t have to include the exact prompt in your piece, and you can interpret the prompt(s) any way you like.

OR

No really; I need rules!

Okay; write 200-500 words on the prompt of your choice. You may either use the prompt as the title of your piece or work it into the body of your piece. You must complete it before 6 pm CST on the Monday following this post.

The Prompts:

FRIENDLY FIRE

SUSPICIOUS CLICK

ARROW FELL

CUT IT OFF

GRINNING SILENCE

 

7 thoughts on “one dark night

    • I spend a lot of time in the mountains, and this has never happened to me, but that doesn’t keep me from picturing it unfolding any time there is an out of place sound at night.

  1. Gorgeously done. I love the way you mirrored “grinning silence” with “mischievous quiet” and brought it home with “working on a sound I wouldn’t appreciate.” Nice!

And, begin:

