Poorly Reviewed Q and A

Has anyone noticed that I’m just putting the theme for these posts right there in the title for everyone to see?

And while I’m not running out of quotes (that will never happen), I am running out of creative ways to say: “Hey, you can find all the previous Q and A silliness with this link right here.”

Anyway, enough of that silliness, let’s get on with it, shall we:  Over the years I’ve incorporated some movie dialogue into my day-to-day lingo.  Sometimes those quotes can even come from movies that have been universally panned.  Maybe I’m just a sucker for a flick on the silver screen, but I can usually find some redeeming qualities from every movie I watch.

Q: What should you say when you are about to get all preachy with someone?
A: “Let’s have an intelligent conversation here: I’ll talk, and you listen.”
– Deacon (Dennis Hopper) – Waterworld

Q: What should you say to someone who always makes you feel better?
A: “You give out hope like it was candy in your pocket.”
– Abby (Olivia Williams) – The Postman

Q: What should you say to someone after they use a pun?
A: “Oh, don’t make jokes; I’m serious.”
– Kira (Olivia Newton-John) – Xanadu

Q: What should you say when someone tells you to calm down?
A: “I can’t be calm! Oh, no, no, no, no, I’m the “Master of the Mechanical Stuff”! And I have to help you! You, the master of the STUPID STUFF!”
– Artemus Gordon (Kevin Kline) – Wild Wild West

Q: What do you say when nobody else wants to do what you want to do?
A: “But after my nap I always watch the Kangaroo Song.”
– Julian (Dylan Sprouse) – Big Daddy

Q: What do you say when…  Well, actually, you should probably never seriously say this one, but what should you say when you want to be silly after going someplace new?
A: “Could I speak to the drug dealer of the house, please?”
– Jack Slater (Arnold Schwarzenegger) – Last Action Hero

Q: What do you say before embarking on a dangerous adventure?
A: “If I’m not back in five minutes… just wait longer.”
– Ace Ventura (Jim Carrey) – Ace Ventura: Pet Detective

Q: What should you say to motivate someone to do their best?
A: “Do it for the butterflies!”
– Valerie (Patricia Arquette) – Little Nicky

Q: What do you respond with when someone asks what you are going to do with your life?
A: “Things are gonna happen for me, I’m Joe Dirt.”
– Joe Dirt (David Spade) – Joe Dirt

Q: What do you say to someone who doesn’t clean their plate?
A: “If you don’t eat them now, they’ll be waiting here for you at dinner.”
-Tutti Bomowski (Estelle Getty) – Stop or My Mom Will Shoot

I know that one kind of goes without saying, but I still think it’s funny.

………

All of these either received Razzies or didn’t fare well with the whole Rotten Tomatoes thing or I just remember getting a lot of flack from the critics.  Hmm, I wonder if I would make a good critic.  Well, probably not if I like every movie, and from the number of quotes I’ve got bouncing around in my head it sure seems like I do.  Oh well.  Thanks again for playing along, even with this sad lot.  And never forget, here there be monsters, and really really really terrible movies, alrighty then.
15 thoughts on “Poorly Reviewed Q and A

    • I had to spread it around a bit… didn’t want to just pick on one person too much.
      Besides… *for shame* …. I like most of his movies. I think there might be something wrong with me.

      • His career started with Fandango and ended with The Untoucahbles.

        I hear he was great as teh dead body in The Big Chill before all his scenes (as a corpse) ended up on the cutting room floor.

      • I’ll agree he isn’t the most talented actor out there… but he’s been in some great movies… and some of the bad ones had less to do with him than just being a bad movie all around.

  1. Great references here, Xanadu with Olivia Newton John, junior high days there. Thanks for the Waterworld reference too, as we previously discussed Kevin Kostner is one of my favorites even in Waterworld. Some classics here, Little Nicky, Joe Dirt and The Last Action Hero. I didn’t see any of these but heard they were bad. I leave those judgments up to others, Great quotes this week Matt!! 🙂

And, begin:

