my success story

Have I mentioned before that the wife is a dancer?

No?  Okay, so the wife is a dancer.

And, by dancer, I mean she is a professionally trained ballroom dance instructor and competitor.  She can watch Dancing With the Stars and do a better job critiquing the dances then the judges…  Do you have a clear picture of the type of person I’m talking about now?  She’s passionate, well trained, and very, very good at what she does.

Before we met, I was not a dancer.  For the first year and a half we dated I remained resolute in declining invitations to try dancing.  For the following year or so I continued to tell her that I had no interest in dancing… while I was secretly taking lessons in the evenings while she was at work.

Why?  Why would take lessons?  Why would I keep it from her?

So that I could surprise her with my new found dance knowledge of course, and then propose.  And, because I knew at the wedding I’d have to know what I was doing to pull off the first dance.

After spilling the secret, getting on one knee, asking, and her saying “yes,” we spent the next 8 months streamlining my dance training, choreographing our first dance (a rumba to Michael Buble’s “Everything.”

I was nervous…

But the day of the wedding came, the ceremony went smoothly on the McCoy Sun Deck, our cocktail hour at the Top of the Sierra (11,000+ feet) went smoothly, everyone got seated back at Parallax okay, dinner went smoothly, and then it was time…

Would I remember the steps?  Would I do her proud?  Would it look as good to everyone there as it had when we practiced it?

She was perfect, of course, gorgeous, sexy, smooth, silky.  And I pulled off my part flawlessly too.  It was amazing!

And that is my success story for today.

Do you have a success story you want to share with the kingdom?

34 thoughts on “my success story

  1. Yes, I have a success story. I’m not good with confrontation at all, and it’s one of the things I’m working on. Well, the other day, the eye doctor tried to tell me I owed over $100 for my husband’s contacts. That didn’t sound right to me so I asked. Turns out a mistake was made in his file, and we owed nothing!! Before, I would have just paid the money. I was so proud of myself when I left the office. 🙂

    • Great job!!!!
      I had a confrontation story like that too – went to the dentist in college after not going for a few years – they said my gums were all messed up and I needed immediate surgery (and they quoted me something like $2,000)… I walked out. I was proud of myself for walking out too because a very large part of me was worried that I was doing the wrong thing, worried that I wasn’t heading the advice of medical professionals…
      Turns out it was a scam – and that dentist office was sued and closed down a year later because they had been telling most of their patients they needed that surgery when they didn’t.
      When I did go back to a dentist a few years later my teeth and gums were perfectly healthy.

  2. In marriage like dancing we need the right partner. You sound like you both succeeded in that. Congratulations, and may you have many more waltz’s, rumbas, cha-chas and even a highland fling or two in the future.

  3. What a great guy you are.
    My success story is now. I’ll make it short.
    I was sick for a long time with a strange virus. It left me tired all the time. MD’s could do nothing.
    It’s been a long road, but with the help of alternative medicine and the fact that I’m tougher than a virus, I’m almost back! Feeling great, am less tired, and getting more done. ;0)

  4. Aww, that was such a sweet story! The situation is reversed for me – my fiancé has had some ballroom dancing training, whereas I have no idea how to dance. I predict that there will be sore toes during that wedding!

  5. My best friend does a lot of ballroom competitions and is right now working for a ballroom costume company in Florida. Oh gosh, I wish I could remember the name of the company, maybe your wife has heard of them…
    Anyway, she choreographed the dance for me and my father at my wedding since my husband refuses to dance. Your story is very cute though.

And, begin:

