Q and A with a side of spinach

What has happened with the Q and A madness before today, click the link and find out…  If you dare.

Back already?  That was fast.  But now you know that  over the years I’ve incorporated a ridiculous amount of movie dialogue into my day-to-day lingo.  Today, the theme goes a little more specific, down to a single movie:

Q: What do you say to a group of people who have wronged you?
A: “Now, maybe you swabs can pool your intelligensk and sees that I’m axking you for an apologeky.”

Q: What do you say when someone asks if you want children?
A: “They’re just smaller versions of us you know, but I’m not so crazy about me in the first place, so why would I want one of them?”

Q: What do you say when someone asks why you treat children the way you do?
A: “I ain’t man enough to be no mother.”

Q: What do you say when talking about someone who doesn’t quite seem all there?
A: “Oyls. That explains it. She’s down a quart.”

Q: What do you say when you are about to pick a fight?
A: “I oughta busk you right in the mush.”

Q: What do you say when you are waxing philosophical about life?
A: “I ain’t no physcikisk, but I knows what matters.”

Q: What do you say to someone who is bullying you?
A: “Even though you’re bigger than me, you can’t win, ’cause you’re bad, and the good always wins over the bad.”

Q: What do you say to someone who asks you why you do the things you do?
A: “I yam what I yam.”

Q: What do you say when you find yourself someplace particularly shady?
A: “Don’t touch nothin’. You might get a venerable disease.”

Q: What do you say when you see new parents oohing and aahing over their children?
A: “Children. Bless their little hearts, if they was really made out of gold, I’d like to sell’em on the open market. I could make me a fortune.”

Can you guess what it is?  There’s one really good hint in there if you can find it.  Plus, a whole lot of little hints here and there and everywhere.  The answer is even on the page if you really must know.

………

So, are you strong to the finish because not only did you read this entire blog post, but you caught the theme immediately?  Never in my life have I seen spinach in a can, by the way.  Fresh spinach, frozen spinach, spinach in bags, spinach still growing: yes, yes, yes, and yes, but never once in a can.  Have you?  Thanks as always for playing along.  Oh, and never forget, here there be monsters, and unsung heroes. and Popeye the Sailor Man.  I’m not sure whether or not the kids should try this at home.
13 thoughts on “Q and A with a side of spinach

  1. Well, about spinach in a can… you are not old enough. But Popeye was; he was around when I was a little girl! My mother actually BOUGHT canned spinach, and the schools had gallon cans of it and it was on the school hot lunch line. I called it Grey Gack…

  2. I used to watch the cartoon when I was little. Looking back, Popeye, the characters from Looney Toons, and Mickey Mouse were the cartoons we were fed on Sunday mornings.

And, begin:

