the zoo

Though, that isn’t a very real moniker at all considering my zoo consists of only two cats, but the daily prompt stole the word I would have used: menagerie.  So, what’s a jester to do?  I mean, hello, of course we here at the kingdom have a menagerie, we’ve even mentioned it before!

It’s not the most expansive collection, consisting of only two house cats, but we are still a young kingdom and there is plenty of time for us to add further animals to it.

Sara and Belle were adopted at 8 weeks and 10 weeks old, shortly after we bought our home.  The wife and I both came from families that had cats and we both wanted the little cuties back in our lives.  There is a local non-profit called Cat’s Cradle Rescue that does a lot of good work for kitties in Ventura County, and we sort of lucked into finding them, and then also finding the two creatures that now grace our menagerie.  That was more than 3 years ago.

Belle immediately adopted me, in her own way, as much as she was the kitty that I picked out to take home with us.  She’s a trouble maker, and super cute and not at all like what I thought I’d be getting in a cat.

Sara immediately adopted the wife, just as she was the kitty that the wife picked out to take home with us.  She’s a sweetheart, and super cute and not at all like what I thought I’d be getting in a cat.  Oh, does that sound familiar?  That’s because I’d already said that.

They follow us around the house, from room to room, and when we settle down they settle down with us.  They beg for attention when we ignore them, they are social, they play games with us, they’ll even chase after thrown toys and bring them back to chase them again.  I thought cats were supposed to be neurotic creatures that wanted to be left alone 99% of the time and would only come out and let you pet them on very rare occasions.  Our cats are the exact opposite of that.

I may joke, especially with Belle, from time to time that people who come to visit she took one of them with them when they leave, I may joke about making cat stew from time to time as well, I may complain about being woken up at 4AM by them too, but despite the complaints and the jokes I would never get rid of them.  I can’t imagine not having them around.  They are part of the family, not just part of the menagerie.  (Even if they do turn our house into a zoo sometimes.)

 

33 thoughts on “the zoo

  1. We are currently the temporary caretakers of my son’s kitten, which he adopted from the Humane Society, until August. As much as I tried not to, I have become very attached to her! She is funny and very affectionate, and I dread the day my son takes her back to live with him. Who will sit on my computer keyboard while I’m trying to work when she’s gone?

    • Cute!! Sara does look like a panther sometimes. Well, a panther and an owl depending on what she’s doing. Belle doesn’t have the right coloring, but when she is stalking something she looks like every tiger documentary I’ve ever seen.

  2. I’m so glad to hear you have Belle and Sara in your life! I’m not always that big a friend to felines, but I have decided to make an exception in this and a few other cases today. 🙂

    • That’s very, very kind of you. Sara appreciates it. You don’t need to worry about being friendly with Belle though, she’s our little scaredy cat and you’d never see her anyway.

  3. My humble (read: all-knowing) opinion is that you keep the menagerie to two cats, only. If that. If one should die, do not (NOT) replace that cat. Cats. Sheesh. -.-

  4. My cat is one of those, “Don’t touch me!” types but she does it in such a way that it’s just so hysterical you can’t help but love her obnoxious self.

      • Hmm, mine spent time with other kitties learning how to be obnoxious and aloof before we took over parenting. I think it’s best to get them before other cats teach them about acting superior. So I’d say it’s not wrong parenting skills, it’s lucky you got them before other kitties corrupted them! 😉

  5. Waking up in the middle of the night, and looking up at a pair of glowing eyes staring down at me……I was asleep on your air mattress and one of your cats was on the desk, and she was just watching me sleep. I think if I hadn’t have woken up at that point, you would have found a murdered Travis in your condo. Death by kitty.

    • If it was Sara, then she was just guarding you, she’s very protective like that. If it was Belle, then she may have gone for your throat. But, she’s gone for mine before and she’s too small to do any real damage.

  6. So when did you have cats growing up? I certainly would have remembered a cat. And loved on it every chance I had. I remember the tortoises. Did I smoke too many drugs or something?

And, begin:

