impossible is nothing

I believe in several things that are “impossible.”

I believe in magic.  I believe in the miracle aspect of magic, that sometimes great things just happen, as well as the more applied aspects: chanting, coercing, nudging events to follow a certain path.  I certainly wouldn’t want to cross anyone who was proficient in voodoo.

I believe that something is definitely going on in the Bermuda Triangle.  This one is different from magic because it is a naturally occurring phenomenon rather than something imposed by those walking the earth.  To many things have gone down in that little geometric shape for them all to be coincidence.  It is not on my list of places to visit.

I believe in Bigfoot.  How often are we discovering new things about the world we live in?  How many times have those “new” things been right under our noses and we just didn’t have the technology or the drive to look for them.  But, more importantly, I want to believe in this creature of the wild lands.  I want to live in a world that still has mysteries like this to be uncovered.

I believe in super heroes.  I think we all have the potential to be a hero.  I think we all have it in us to rise up and do something extraordinary, to advocate, to save, to exceed expectations and perform beyond belief.  I think we can do this in a very real way if we just apply ourselves.  I also believe there are people among us who have developed their hero side a bit more, they act as our guardian angels and they look out for us as much as they can.

I believe in ghosts.  I grew up in a haunted house.  I’ve seen things I cannot explain, but I believed long before I had seen these spirits, shapes, bendings of light and color.  I would still believe even if I had never seen, even if all hauntings had been proved to be hoaxes.

I believe in aliens.  I won’t even get into the idea of UFOs and abductions.  Just a sheer size and numbers game, the universe is too vast, full of too many unknowns and therefore possibilities, for us to be the only intelligent species to have life.  It is selfish of us to think any other way.

51 thoughts on “impossible is nothing

  1. I agree. I believe in ghosts, and I believe that the wind carries the wisdom of the voices of all those who have passed before us. I believe in miracles. I believe in God, and that He still speaks to us if we can only listen. I believe in fate, and signs, and a sixth sense. I believe that we all need to spend less time searching for explanations, and more time seeing what’s in front of us. And I believe in bigfoot, too. I thought I saw him once, but it turned out to be a big dog. Maybe next time…

    • Thanks for the comments!
      ” I believe that we all need to spend less time searching for explanations, and more time seeing what’s in front of us.” – Completely agree! Well said.

  2. I believe in ghosts too! Not like the dropping by to scare you or anything but I’ve heard family members that have seen them, mostly deceased family…
    I believe that there are aliens, not abductions but I mean if we can survive here, why can’t there be other beings in other planets, right?

  3. I believe in you my buzzing friend
    So anything is possible in a world where nothing is how it seems
    Respect to you and the Crew
    Daniel angel from Cape Cornwall

  4. Great post! I believe in most of these things to some extent, I think I used to work with Bigfoot. and I am positive that I have definitely known aliens. 🙂 As for superheroes, you know I think they live inside us all so I am with you there for sure. Magic happens every day.

  5. Great post. I believe in ghosts. Bigfoot too. From age 6~10 I lived in CA and was terrified to take a trip through the forest. I outgrew the fear though and anything supernatural now intrigues. Since we don’t know everything, nothing is impossible.

    • I don’t remember how young I was, but I had to have been very young, and we took a trip up to Kennedy Meadows. While we were there a whole crew came in to do casts of foot prints and night sound and video recordings because there had been a whole lot of activity. It was very cool! Yes, all things supernatural are very intriguing!

      • BTW I listened to part of your mixes last night. I was impressed. This post reminds me of the song by The Shamen titled nothing is impossible as a PS.

      • Cool, glad you enjoyed the part of the mix you got through. I’m not familiar with The Shamen track, I’ll have to check that out when I get a chance later.

  6. I loved your last line! 🙂 I believe in (read ” am terrified of”) ghosts. The casual way in which you wrote about living in a haunted house makes me think all those years with ghosts must have emboldened you! 🙂 The Bermuda Triangle stories have always fascinated me. But I guess we will never really know the real story now, will we! 🙂 Great post!

    • Nope, we’ll never know unless the mystery decides it doesn’t want to be a mystery anymore. I’m not sure that living with ghosts emboldened me… movies like poltergeist freak me out like no other, so I must think to some extent that they could be harmful; but the ghost we had in our home never did anything like that.

    • Oh, I’ve got plenty of work, death, and taxes in the kingdom too. I just don’t bring them up all that often… part of being the jester, you know, I have to try and entertain, and I just am not a very good jester because I don’t know how to make taxes funny…

      Though, maybe I’ve just thought of a meme….

  7. There is certainly more in this world than what we can ‘see’ on the limited spectrum of our vision 🙂 and perhaps we get to the stage of ‘knowing’ they exist too 🙂

  8. Were you a fan of Unbreakable? God I loved that movie!! I was all like…ahhhh I believe that could happen for real! I know peeps that never get sick, maybe all they needed was a small boy who believed in them and whoa! Cool post DJ! And by the way…. LOOK OUT BEHIND YOU!!!!!

    • Loved unbreakable… and agree, there are probably people out there who just need a push in the right direction, or are already secretly being the heroes they can be. As Jon’s post says – there is the potential for a hero in all of us.

And, begin:

