Q to the power of A, parody

It’s Friday!  And we all know what that means here in the kingdom.  Some movie quoting madness (previously seen here, here, here, and here.)  Aren’t you excited?  I am.  Let’s get to it shall we.

Over the years I’ve incorporated an overwhelming (it would seem) abundance of movie dialogue into my day-to-day lingo.  (Some might even question if anything I have to say is my own or I’ve stolen it all from one movie or another…  I’ll plead the fifth on that.  You can make up your own mind.)  The following is this week’s list of possible questions/situations you may find yourself in life and how you should/shouldn’t respond.

I’ve used, well, more than I care to admit.

Q: What do you say when someone is really trying to drill something into you and you are feeling obstinate and don’t want to play along?
A: “I didn’t quite catch that, Lou.”
– Tyler Durden – Fight Club

Q: What do you say when a moment you’d never thought you would see is suddenly within your grasp?  A moment to right all the wrongs of your life?
A: “Revenge. Sweet lasting revenge. Now it’s time for all of us to get a taste.”
– Michael – Sleepers

Q: What do you say when you see some people are dressed up in similar clothes?  (This one is better if they look silly too.)
A: “You guys look like a bunch of ice-cream cones!”
– Tristan Ludlow – Legends of the Fall

Q: What do you say to someone who is constantly running late?
A: “Neal, in Montana there’s three things we’re never late for: church, work and fishing.”
-Paul – A River Runs Through It

Q: What do you say when someone asks you why you did something out of your normal character?
A: “When your partner gets inked, you do something about it. He was your partner, so you do something.”
-Frank Harris – Cool World

Q: What do you say when someone asks why you don’t conform with what everyone else is doing?
A: “I’m always lookin’ out my own eyes.”
– Benjamin Button – The Curious Case of Benjamin Button

Q: What do you say when you see someone that doesn’t quite look right?
A: “Looks like his optometrist has a sense of humor.”
– Chad Feidheimer – Burn After Reading

Q: What do you say when you are out and about having an incredible time, more fun than you thought you would be having?
A: “We should so not be allowed to buy these.”
– John Smith – Mr. and Mrs. Smith

Q: What do you say when you know something you are about to do is going to hinder something another person is supposed to be doing?
A: “See, now I just feel bad, ’cause you’re gonna get fired.”
– Sinbad – Sinbad: Legend of the Seven Seas

Q: What do you say when asked where you learned to do something?
A: “Boy scouts, sir.”
– Tom Bishop – Spy Games

Which ones have you used?  Which ones are you going to start using?  Which ones would you use, but differently from how I’ve got them listed?

……….

This is normally where I’d put my fake legalese to see who is actually paying attention, with things like “Here there be monster,” and “Don’t try this at home, kids.”  But, today I’m just going to ask, did you see the theme?  Do you know what it is?  Also, you probably shouldn’t attempt any of these in real life unless you are prepared for the consequences.
32 thoughts on “Q to the power of A, parody

  1. Did you just quote Legends of the Fall? Only a guy would have been listening to the actual dialogue. You mean there was a plot to that film? Wow. What a revelation.

  2. LOL. Revis beat me to the party. Se7en is still one of the tops on my list…what’s in the box? The only other movie of his I liked was the devils own.

  3. Yay, Yay and more Yay!!! I loved the first the best, although I use a similar sort of thing when someone’s nagging too much (not from a movie quote though). And I also love the Benjamin Button quote. Gonna have to steal that one, because no one seems to understand my perspective on things. 😉

    • Each of us are only ever looking out our own eyes – no matter how “close” we are, there is no one who has lived the same exact life and therefore no one that sees things the way we do. I got into a great discussion about this with Steph from She Said What? (stephrogers.com) recently too.

  4. HA GOOD ONES!!! I have one for YOU!!!
    Q. What do you say when your boss asks you if you have your work done?
    A. I”M RIGHT ON TOP OF THAT ROSE!!!
    – Don’t Tell Mom The Babysitter’s Dead! (Christina Applegate)
    I could do this ALL DAY!!!

  5. I have used some of these – a few knowingly and a few Just like that! Are you a Brad Pitt fan? I loved this post. Looking forward to Friday already!!!

And, begin:

