This one time…

After years of saying how silly it was, after years of saying I would never do anything like that, after years of wondering why anyone would want any part of it, I opened a Twitter account.

I’m not even entirely sure what changed my mind.

Perhaps I just wanted to see what it was all about and it just took me a long time to break down and join the party.  Just like when all the newest gizmos and gadgets come out I always put off upgrading to them for much long than most, what I have works, I don’t want to spend the money, I don’t want to give in to all the hype, etc…  Eventually I usually do “catch up” in one way or another.  Having some football (soccer) promotions and giveaways only advertised over their twitter feeds probably helped push me over the edge.

However, that certainly couldn’t have been all of it.

I think I knew then that I needed some sort of creative outlet.  I needed a space where I could try and be funny, or witty, or silly, or ponderous.  I needed something to see if I really had it in me to consistently come up with something worth writing.  (Which is still debatable, but I do tweet more days than not now – whether any of it is any good is up to you to decide.)  I think I did that 180 and opened a Twitter account as a test run before blogging, without even knowing that I would then throw my kingdom into the blogoverse.

Sometimes that’s just the way these things go.

Well, that, or I could be losing my mind.  I’ll leave that one up to you too.

71 thoughts on “This one time…

    • I started off very slow, also going it fits and bursts, and then I made a commitment to try and tweet at least once per day… That has worked out mostly okay, though I usually only tweet Monday – Friday.

    • I think there is a lot of misconception about it – it isn’t all “I just woke up,” “I poured myself a cup of coffee,” “I’m deciding what to wear today,” “BRB, I have to go to the bathroom,” etc… One of the first people I followed was Steve Martin, and more often than not he posts something hilarious every day. John Cleese was right behind him. Some news feeds. Some WordPress buddies who are always coming up with clever things to say. I’ve been pleasantly surprised at how much value/entertainment I’ve gotten out of it.

  1. Twitter is a great way to write “mini posts”. Single line inspirations for what may/may not later become full blown posts on your blog. It’s also a great way to interact with your other blogger friends without invading anyone’s space like Facebook does 🙂

    • Ah Facebook, another one of those social “norms” that I have avoided so far. But, it’s tempting, as another platform to promote my writing, and as way to spy on, er, I mean catch up with friends from the past… But, I haven’t quite turned the 180 on that one yet.
      Completely agree with the mini-posts from Twitter! I think I’ve used several of the ideas I came up with while tweeting to write some longer posts and stories.

      • Hey I know this is probably the wrong place to ask you about this. But I wanted to ask you about the NaNoWriMo challenge that you took up. It seems like a distant dream right now, but I was thinking about it. Any advice?

      • Check out the NaNoWriMo.org website – they’ve got all kinds of tips and hints on there to help you get started. Plus they’ve got some camps (workshops) coming up that could be helpful.
        Otherwise, all I did was set a word goal for each day and then make myself break it. I knew there would be days that I wouldn’t be able to write, so I forced myself to write extra on the days I was writing. Last year I didn’t really have an outline, and I only had the vaguest of ideas of where the story was headed on any given day, I just let the words guide me as they found their way onto paper. This year I may do an outline ahead of time to help me organize my thoughts a little better, but as I’ve never had much luck with one before, I could scrap and once again just type and type and type and see what comes of it. I think “winning” the NaNoWriMo challenge is more about getting into the habit of writing consistently than anything else.
        Hope some of that rambling was helpful.

      • Yep it definitely was 🙂 I did check out the website. But I will probably go in with a vague outline as well. So I was just wondering if it was a good idea. I’ll definitely try to complete the challenge . Thanks for the help ! 🙂

    • Hah! I don’t (well, rarely) post any personal stuff. Usually I’m just trying to be creative, or funny, or silly or just lamenting on the fact that I can’t think of anything creative, funny, or silly to say.

  2. I do love Twitter. But not FB, where I still have an account but only connected to people I know in real life. Twitter on the other hand let’s me speak with total strangers about silly to very interesting things.

  3. Its where we first met 😀 I’m like you I don’t jump on the band wagon until I’m sure its not filled with the Donner party.

    • LOL! Just made my day. Thanks for that.

      And, actually… I think I found you on WordPress and really liked one of your posts, saw you had some funny tweets displayed there and sought you out on Twitter from that… But, I’m losing my mind, so I can’t be trusted.

      Also, as the jester, you never can tell if what I’m saying is truth, fiction, or a blend of the two. 😉

      • hahah well I noticed you following me so I decided to follow you 😀 which ever way its worked out nicely. I should mention though most of my tweets are web finds that I find amusing. Hope that doesn’t disappoint you.

  4. well, I joined Twitter a while back under pressure and still can’t be bothered with it – although I do understand it can be used for Good as well as Evil. Life, like a tweet, is just too short.
    You wouldn’t believe I work in IT!

    • I’d believe pretty much anything at this point. As that old Adidas commercial says: impossible is nothing. 😉
      Yes, I too was surprised that Twitter could be used for both good and evil. I haven’t even used it for that many evil purposes yet. I really should get on that. 😛

  5. Glad to have you on my Twitter train Matt! I like to join in with the movie hashtag games, they are always good for a laugh and get you to hone your skills as a quipmeister. It can suck up a lot of time but I’ve learnt now not to hang about on there when nothing is going on. You should tweet every day if you can to keep your account fresh in the eyes of the lovely search engines!

    • Bizarre is almost always entertaining, in my experience, but perhaps we here in the kingdom tend to lean that way anyway. Unlike Camelot, which tis a silly place, the matticus kingdom is a bizarre place…? Could be.

  6. What’s your twitter handle, good buddy? I’ll follow ya! (Or, alternatively, I’m pretty easy to find on twitter. Find me and I’ll follow you, following me, following … um … you ….)

  7. If I had read this before I wrote today’s post I would have certainly included it. Where is your twitter link? I will follow you. I have a twitter account but really don’t use it much. I set up posts to automatically tweet, But I don’t think many readers come from there. It is another modern “convenience” that I am not sure we need. I laughed when I read of your resistance to cell phones. I was the same way, swearing I would never get one and now I am tethered to the world through technology like everyone else. Thanks for the post and now I know I am not the only one who looks at change that way. My father does too, he still hates cell phones, computers and only grudgingly in emergencies uses a microwave. He is old school.

    • Grudgingly using a microwave?? That is old school! I guess if I didn’t have a microwave I could make do without it, but I grew up with one, so it’s nothing new to me.
      My twitter handle is @matticusdj.

  8. Dear Amba – you know I love you and your thoughts. And I agree. So I have a confession to make – even I, four-year-old terrier mutt with a big heart and joy to share with the world….even I am a Twitter and Facebook user. Find and friend me today. 🙂

  9. I’m the same way. When new things come out, I don’t follow the hype. I was the biggest person to say I hate twitter and I refuse to follow. Then I started blogging and after a while I opened an account too. And then Facebook too. I like that I can keep in touch with other bloggers outside of wordpress.

  10. *sobs and turns to the non tweeting world* we.lost.another.one…I am a luddite. No social media, no computer, no tv. Only a smartphone and small participation in this WP community. *Turns to non Facebook world* Don’t let him go…

    • No computer? No TV? I’m impressed. I don’t think I could give those up.

      And don’t worry, the call of facebook isn’t strong enough to lure me that direction yet.

And, begin:

