big mistake

A bit of a flush crept into his cheeks the longer he remained on one knee with his face pleading earnestly.

“No,” she replied, shaking her head once.

He felt like an idiot.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Word Count: 33

This bit of silliness brought to you in response to this week’s Trifextra:

This week we're asking for exactly 33 of your own words about love gone wrong.  But we're asking that you not use any of the following words:
love
sad
tears
wept
heart
pain
This weekend’s challenge is community judged.
  • For the 48 hours following the close of the challenge, voting will be enabled on links.
  • In order to vote, return to this post where stars will appear next to each link. To vote, simply click the star that corresponds with your favorite post.
  • You can vote for your top three favorite posts.
  • Voting is open to everyone.
66 thoughts on “big mistake”

      1. Oh! And I PROMISE I’m not just saying this but your story was definitely my favorite in Fauxpocalypse :) As always, I want more. You could write an entire book off that one family.

        Do it. Do it now. :)

      2. Hah!
        I don’t know if I could write an entire book…
        But I am planning a follow up story to check in on the farm a couple months after we left them.

        I still need to finish my NaNo project. And I have a couple other things I’m working on.

        So much writing to be done!

        And you? How is your story coming along?

      3. Hooray! I’ll take it :)

        It’s coming along. I actually decided to quit my dance company last week (EEK!) so I have a lot of free time all of a sudden. Hopefully, I can get it finished in the next couple of months!

      4. It was, but a good one I think. :) My director says I’m always welcome back which is good in case I sober up anytime soon and freak out!

      1. I suppose I should say the worst in that given situation. Though arguably a tornado coming through and sweeping them both away is far worse in the long run.
        My mind is stuck on the love vs. shitty relationships…oopps.

  1. What a great description of such a truly awful moment…but perhaps Troy is right….sometimes ‘no’ might be the best answer, even if it’s completely humiliating and devastating in the moment!

    1. I’ve heard of people doing that…
      I can’t fathom. I’m close with my family and friends, but I think that kind of moment is best shared with the two people making the decision.

And, begin:

