perspective

Am I living happily ever after?

How do you define happy?  As we age don’t our priorities shift?  Don’t the requirements to being happy change day by day?  And how can we possibly know what the future will hold and whether or not the happiness we have today will still make sense in 5 years?  In 15 years?  In 30 years?

Shall we judge our happiness based on what society thinks we need to be happy?  Do we have our own separate criteria?

Let’s go to the checklists, shall we? 

Yes, we shall:

Job Satisfaction – As someone who enjoys an abundance of different activities (writing, dj’ing, volleyball, soccer, math, science, auditing, editing, working on the computer, working with other people, … the list goes on and on), is there ever going to be that one job that I will enjoy doing for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week, 49 (plus or minus one or so) weeks a year?  Probably not.  But, I came to grips with that long ago and am happy enough in my current position. 

Work/Life Balance – I go to work, and then I leave.  I don’t often bring it home with me (literally or figuratively) and it affords me both the time and resources to pursue a multitude of other activities I enjoy.  In this, I am very happy.

Home Life – Married the silliest, craziest, most wonderful (and don’t forget gorgeous) woman I’ve ever known.  She makes me very happy.  We are living “the American dream” as home owners.  We have two sweetheart (*ahem* and hellian) cats.  A bun in the oven (that is almost ready to come out).  I couldn’t think of anything to complain about for this aspect if I thought about it for years.  I’m happier than I ever thought I could be.

Money – We make enough to do most of the things we want to do.  We make more than some.  We make less than others.  I’ve never factored this into whether or not I’m happy.  If I made less I would find activities I enjoy doing that cost less.  If I made more it would make taking care of my growing family easier, sure, but I trust that we will find a way to carry on with what we have.  This is not a factor in being happy or not.

Adding it all up:  happy enough + very happy + happier than I ever thought I could be + (non factor) = Yes, I am living happily ever after.

How about you?

 

32 thoughts on “perspective”

    1. In some ways I envy my wife – she loves her job, is super passionate about it, and can’t imagine walking away from it… Sometimes I think it would be nice to have that kind of connection with what I’m doing 8 hours every day.

    1. Thank you! :-D I’ve been trying not to inundate my faithful readers with my daddy-to-be status but sometimes I’ve felt like I’ve failed completely at that. And I fear that the kingdom will be overrun with pictures and kiddo silliness in the coming months. Hopefully that will be okay with everyone.

  1. Awwww..this is quite uplifting, it’s great to see someone out there is happy! Something about that is very hopeful – to know happiness is possible ;) Sounds like you’ve really got your life sorted too, in a good way. Have you written about how you met your wife? :D I’d love to hear the story!

    1. Oh, that would be a good story…. I should do that at some point, thanks for the idea. Maybe I’ll do an “origin” story after the kiddo shows up.

      Yep, happiness is out there, and possible for everyone to find. I believe that to be a truth. Glad my story provides hope for people who are still searching for their happiness.

    1. I think for the most part, there is no actually destination, and all we can ever do is just continue trying to “get there.” If that makes sense… We need to be happy with the journey.

  2. You have found the balance at a young age, something a lot of people struggle with, as they’re too caught up in the material things rather than looking at life in general. Well done Sir dj, and I can’t wait to see photos of the little one. ;)

  3. Beautiful :) love the sums at the end lol … Happiness = good balance in all societal defined areas :) congratulations .. I gather you have been warned that life will never ever be the same again when the bun comes out of the oven hmmm??? Enjoy :D

      1. Lol lol oh dear that was my thought .. Prior … They were all right LMAO :D … DO introduce your child to warped humour from an early age :) its the best thing out … My son commented once that he realised where he got much of his tendencies from … I like to know my kids followed me well :D

      2. yes, I think I got most of my humor from my dad – bad jokes and lots of puns… I haven’t yet brought out the puns on my blog yet; but it is only a matter of time. :-D

And, begin:

