Somewhere lost in the Sierra again.

my little piece of forest

If I were given a plot of land, and had the financial means to do with that land as I pleased, I would turn it into a private forest, with my house lost somewhere in the middle.

I would bring in oaks and pines and intersperse a few giant sequoias.  It would be a dense tangle of trunks and have a veritable canopy of green overhead.  Some light would filter through the limbs and needles to fall on the earth below, but not much.  A stream would cut through the woods, large enough that I would need a bridge to cross it, but still small enough that I could wade across to cool down in the summer.

A single lane dirt road would cut through my forest to reach the cleared space I would leave for my home.  It would be a simply affair – just large enough for my family, with a wrap-around porch and a couple rocking chairs positioned strategically to catch the last of the sun setting as it disappeared beyond my tree filled utopia.

Simple, yes, but that is all I would really want.

Somewhere lost in the Sierra again.
Yeah, I think this would do just fine.
28 thoughts on “my little piece of forest”

    1. Paradise! That was the word that escaped me this morning. I typed “utopia” and thought that just didn’t sound right but my sleepy brain couldn’t come up with anything better at the moment. Thanks for reading and commenting! :-D

  1. I didn’t know you wanted to live in Maine? That is what it is like all over the place here. Plenty of winding dirt roads, and streams and lord knows trees, trees, and more trees. A beaver’s paradise. You didn’t mention anything about freezing your ass off for three months so there is that but Maine is for you Matt, other than that.

    1. Wouldn’t mind the cold temperatures either. Grew up in the desert – so I’m used to winter being freezing, plus I love going to the mountains to snowboard every winter too. I know there is a difference between vacationing in cold and living there full time – but I think I’d be okay. Maine, eh? Well… maybe, just maybe. Was also thinking Colorado would be pretty good.

And, begin:

