Daily Prompt: Life Tape

The suggestion from today’s Daily Prompt is to create a mix tape that reflects your life, including something that corresponds with your outlook for the future.

Wow.  I really struggled with this one.  I love music, and I’ve made countless mix tapes over the years, but to come up with the songs that match up with the life I’ve lived?  That seems mostly impossible.  I had almost made up my mind to skip today’s prompt as an impossible task.

However, then I read the great post by A. Good One and realized that I didn’t need to try and encompass my whole life.  It isn’t perfect, but neither is life; the below list is the mix tape I’d put together for the important moments of my life (and future) (well, those I could think of at the moment, anyway):

The Sound of Silence – Simon & Garfunkel – Whenever we were in the car growing up, there was music on.  This song is probably my favorite from those first tapes (yes, tapes) that were in regular rotation on the longer trips.  It represents my introduction to my father’s music and the first few years of my life.

Born in the USA – Bruce Springsteen – This is the song that introduced me to rock.  It got me to tap my feet to the music.  It represents the beginning of my long love affair with everything that is rock and roll.  It’s growing up and venturing into the outside world.

Zombie Jamboree – Kingston Trio – This was the first song I remember specifically requesting.  I thought it was hilarious.  It represents my transition into finding music that fit my own tastes and learning to start thinking for myself.

Basket Case – Green Day – This song represents junior high.  That pretty much says it all, doesn’t it?

The River – Bruce Springsteen – A return to Bruce, only this time a song I learned to love on my own.  This song represents high school, the “what could have been’s” of high school romances and beginning to actually listen to the words in the songs I would blast from my stereo; beginning to understand that things are not always as they seem.

American Pie – Don McLean – You could say I found this song late because I didn’t start listening to it until high school, but better late than never, right?  This song represents when I really started appreciating music and, more importantly for me, the stories behind the music, the lyrics, the words.

Name of the Game – Crystal Method – This song represents breaking away from what I had grown up on and branching out during college, finding raves, and transferring my passion for music into becoming a DJ.  Oh, and some partying, of course.

Mad World – Gary Jules and Michael Andrews – This song represents the classroom and research aspect, the structured aspects, of my college experience.  Just as Basket Case did for Junior High, this song pretty much sums it all up quite nicely on its own.

Love The Way You Lie – Eminem – This song represents my college relationship.  It could have been written for us.  Which transitions nicely into:

I Miss You – Blink 182 – This song came out right after breaking up with my college romance.  I couldn’t get enough of it.  It fit how I felt perfectly.

Go – Blink 182 – This song represents the hecticness of life post college, when I was scrambling to figure out what I actually wanted out of life and who I really was.  Learning how to survive on my own.  Learning how to be a part of society.  Learning how to be okay with just being myself.  The song isn’t necessarily about any of those topics, but it’s frenetic pace while still sounding melodic and bringing back to my roots (rock and roll) all tie nicely to the whole experience.

Seven Cities – Solar Stone – Get ready for a bit of sappyness.  This song is just beautiful, pure and simple.  It represents discovering the things I need in my life to be happy and then finding my eventual wife.

Portuguese Love Theme – Craig Armstrong – We played this song at our wedding.  It fits.  It fits us.  It fit that period of my (our) life, and every day since.

The Sound of Silence – Shaw Blades – This song represents the future (and the past).  It’s another sign of returning to my roots, with a new twist, and will probably be on rotation in my car for the child we are expecting early next year.

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Life Tape”

  1. P.S.: I also found it difficult – to choose because there are so many songs that represent different times of my life – I also could do it again :)

    Don Mc Lean ..I had that album on tape when I was 17 .. liked American Pie as well, and many other songs from that album, and of course, how could I forget Simon & Garfunkel – they have so many beautiful songs :)

    1. Timeless music – that’s for sure – maybe that’s why they were good choices for our life mixes? because they can be applied to so many different situations, so many different times…

  2. Great list! Some of my favorites are on your list. I chose to share artists that my kids love whose message fits my story… a different approach from my usual. :-)

And, begin:

